We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time running a conference here”
Review of Lamunu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamunu
Ranked #1 of 1 Braamfontein B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second time running a conference here”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great hotel, well located and easy to access from using public transport or the roads. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Bathroom not great for people sharing (very open). Conference package is great, with sumptuous meals in the Lamunu restaurant. Also well placed for walks to other restaurants and coffee shops. Great vibe on Saturdays especially.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Carmen Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night. The location is great, right in the heart of buzzing Braamfontein. Unfortunately, the facilities of the hotel are not so great (extractor fan in the bathroom extremely loud and can't be switched off, no bathroom door, no phone to call reception, no wifi access in the rooms). We could have lived with that - but not with the throughout bad service we received from everyone at the hotel (only exception was the gentleman who helped us store our luggage in the store room who was very friendly). The attitude was unfriendly and sloppy. Customers are definitely not kings at this place - it felt more like we were a nuisance to the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzansi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review easyHotel de Korte Street.

I am dissappointed to hear that you did not recieve the high level of service we pride ourselves in.

All feedback from our guests whether it is good or bad, is invaluable in assisting us to be the best that we can be and make our guests' stay enjoyable.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any details you may want to share in order for me to take the necessary remedial steps to prevent a future reoccurance.

Kind regards,
Carmen Graham
General Manager

Tel: +27 (0) 11 242 8600
Cell: +27(0) 76 820 4497
CarmenG@lonrhohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Previously "Lamunu Hotel" this city centre hotel right next to the trendy Neighbourgoods Market, Juta Street exstablishments, Puma Social Club & great independant coffee houses offers excellent value for money. At only around £35 per night with free underground parking this comfortable and safe hotel is our favourite when visiting Joburg. The rooms are clean and tidy with modern decor. If you want clean towels & the bed made this is R50 extra per day. Very nice breakfast and coffee can be had at a number of cafes just a short walk away. The Joburg Theatre is also close by. A short 5 minute drive to Museum Africa (you could walk - but take care). The skeletan staff are freindly and helpful. Not a place to lounge and spend time - but perfect for a few nights in the city and exploring the up and coming Bramfontein area. Easy drive to all other areas of the city via Jan Smuts Drive 5 minutes away. Beds are comfortable with in room AC unit (also heats).

Only two warnings for visitors:
We went in July - and it was cold at night (fine under the duvet).
The bathroom vent is on constantly so you have a ventilation hum (no door on bathroom) (This was in room 210 we have stayed before in Room 203 and don't remember this problem)

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 2nd floor have access to a large shared roof terrace (I think the low 200's).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen G, Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Property by sharing your experience not only at our Hotel but also the Braamfontein area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to easyHotel Johannesburg, CBD.

Warm regards,
Carmen Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamunu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamunu

Property: Lamunu
Address: 90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Braamfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamunu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
easyHotel De Korte Street offers simplified comfort in a stylishly fun environment, all decked out in a retro colour-palette – bold oranges set strikingly against blacks and browns – and quirky details. Situated in the heart of Johannesburg and within walking distance of the Nelson Mandela Bridge, it’s easy getting to the nearby theatres, night spots, restaurants, major universities and prominent courts; its the ultimate in cool urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamunu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamunu Hotel Johannesburg
Lamunu Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing