We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Devonshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Devonshire
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braamfontein
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is part of the Orion Group which owns the adjacent building; Orion House. On numerous instances in the week I stayed there, a loud boisterous church--with highly amplified sound system and drums--was operation from Orion House. This was a serious assault on the senses and total disrespect to one's right to peace & quiet. The noise was especially bothersome on Sunday when I was expecting to catch up on much need sleep.

The management of the hotel seemed oblivious to complaints; further reinforcing a the feeling that the hotel operates in an environment of lawlessness and entitlement. The 'church' was in clear violation of zoning and noise pollution laws; but seemed to be operating with the blessing of Orion Group (which is a listed property company) or the local law enforcement.

For a serious business person, who treasures peace, quiet and safety or someone wanting to get some work done this hotel should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, some of the rooms are located close to the evangelical church located at Orion House. We do understand that on Sundays churches will create some noise - this however, does not break any zoning/noise pollution laws that we are aware of.
However, we will ask the management of Orion House to take this up with the offending church.
We do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and will address the issue of why you were not relocated to a quieter room at the Devonshire by duty management. This is the first complaint of this nature that we have received; rest assured it will be dealt with...

Sincerely
The Management
Devonshire Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We received shocking front desk service, our 2 pre-paid reservations were not on the system and the hotel was full, effectively stranding us in the city at 9pm. There were warning signs in the lobby about leaving valuables in your room. The bar/restaurant was empty at 9pm on a Friday night. This seems to me to be an over-priced hotel with a dangerous feel, in a dangerous area. It is not what as it appears on Orion's website. Stay at your own risk if you want to experience the "real" Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire T, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Michael,

Our apologies to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations... We are not a Sandton or Houghton Hotel but rather a hotel on the edge of the Braamfontein Ridge. In many years of operation we have never had a security issue or safety issue for any of our guests and do not understand the implication that we are a dangerous location or hotel. The Devonshire is steeped in history and welcomes guests from around the world, Braamfontein is actually a very safe area of Johannesburg and cannot be held guilty by association just because it is part of Johannesburg.

We consistently run high occupancies and high returning guest ratios with many Government and Corporate long term clients. Perhaps if you had stayed you might not have judged a book by its cover.

We would love you to see the vibrant culture and ethnic mix that is Johannesburg and that makes up our diverse client base. Our doors are always open to foreigners and locals- united we stand, divided we fall.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I was staying at The Devonshire for one night. When I checked in I was delighted by the fact that my host at Orion had arranged for my stay to be complimentary - everything was complimentary - meals, accommodation, bar! My room was upgraded and I was treated like royalty by all the staff. Thank you for making me feel special. A delicious complimentary plate of fresh fruit was delivered to my room - again a surprise which was a real treat. As I unpacked I realised that I had left my toothbrush behind. So in the morning I went to reception to find out where I could find the nearest chemist. Iain, the General Manager, overheard me and rushed out to help - he arranged to have someone go out and buy me a toothbrush and toothpaste. So when I finished my breakfast, it was waiting for me. It may seem like a little thing - but these are the things that make you remember and appreciate a place. Thank you Devonshire for making my stay one to remember and I look forward to returning - this time I'll remember to pack my toothbrush - but you never know.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenOParkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire T, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your review.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This hotel was our haven during soccer world cup. We arrived with no reservations and all hotels in Sandton were full. We found our way to Braamfontein in Downtown Jo´burg and we received a nice welcome in the Orion Hotel Devonshire. The hotel is clean, safe and the staff is always helpful. There is a wonderful bar attached to the hotel where we had a really good time during some games. This is the "other" Jo´burg (not Sandton) which is not always recommended as a point for staying. But we liked it a lot and felt safe and welcome all the time (day and night).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonshire T, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Devonshire.

Sincerely,

Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giusy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roegje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nos alojamos en la planta 4, habitacion aun sin renovar y algo viejita, pero la cama muy comoda y la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lanzadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Hotel Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.4 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
1 mi away
SUN1 Berea
SUN1 Berea
#36 of 67 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#16 of 67 in Johannesburg
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devonshire

Address: cnr Jorissen Ave & Melle St | PO Box 31197, Braamfontein 2017, South Africa (Formerly Orion Hotel Devonshire)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braamfontein
Price Range: £25 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Devonshire 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Johannesburg landmark that dates back to the 1930's is located on the Braamfontein Ridge, next to the iconic Mandela Bridge. Whilst The Devonshire Hotel has been totally rebuilt on the original site, it still retains its original character and charm. It is strategically positioned in Johannesburg's vibrant cosmopolitan, business and academic district, Braamfontein. The hotel offers a warm and inviting guest experience and caters to travelling businessmen, sports fans and conference delegates. The Bellismo Italian Restaurant serves traditional Italian cuisine combined with its legendary pizzas; guests can relax and enjoy a casual drink at the Long Bar, a popular and inviting Johannesburg sports bar. The Devonshire Hotel is only 25 minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport and 10 minutes away from the Sandton City Shopping Centre, Wits University, University of Johannesburg, and Milpark Business School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Devonshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Devonshire Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing