We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and setting”
Review of Quarry Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quarry Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and setting”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We checked in extremely late due to some car issues and the security guard was waiting for us with our keys on arrival. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the breakfast setting is very nice beside the lake. An overall clean, reliable wonderfully located hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thankyou for your positive review ! We are so glad to hear you had a good experience especially when checking in late as we always like to know that these after hours plans are in place and working well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quarry lake Inn !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    78
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
41
8
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Quarry Lake Inn is situated right next to the Lake and as such has a very peaceful setting in lush gardens with lots of birdsong. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff welcoming, helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was enjoyable with a delicious fresh fruit salad and the Nespresso machine adding special touches which elevate it above the norm. We stayed at there for the waterpolo tournament and it is very conveniently located for easy access (a 5 min walk) to the Joan Harrison pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thankyou for your positive comments. Our team is very happy to read these good comments as they have a great pride in their work. Also we are glad to hear that we are a good option as close proximity to Joan Harrison Pool. Look forward to seeing you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a pleasant and enjoyable business trip stay at Quarry Lake in East London. From the pleasant, helpful telephonic booking to being greeted and welcomed on arrival.... The setting and the gardens are beautiful.
What a pleasure to come back to at the end of busy day.
Only problem is the verandah overlooking the day had me day-dreaming every morning over breakfast and so not wanting to leave.... :-)
Will definitely be returning to Quarry Lake on my next trip to EL.
Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee-ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thankyou for your comments about you stay at Quarry Lake Inn. Tranquillity is a great description of our area and the services we provide reflect this. Hope and trust to see you back at Quarry Lake Inn soon 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What a great hotel...loved the staff, the setting and the hotel...awesome value for money and I have now found my new home away from home when in East London...first class product and five star value...hats off to the management and staff

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest. Thankyou for your most positive and appreciative remarks about Quarry Lake Inn. Our staff are really thrilled to receive these accolades, which makes our work all the more worthwhile !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This establishment is located in an unassuming area of East London, away from the rush of the city, so it may not fit everyone's purpose. The room as big enough with smoking table outside on the balcony. I found breakfast to be quite adequate and we used their boardroom for our meeting over two days and we didn't have any complaints. They let us bring our own catering as it was a Saturday, so we found them to be helpful. I think the bathroom supplies for a 4-star establishment should be improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thankyou for your feedback about your recent experience at Quarry Lake Inn. We appreciate that you have taken the time to remark on certain aspects of your experience and we do value this and take note of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

An excellent breakfast served here with a stunning spread - good variety and friendly service.
The location on a good day cannot be beaten with views of the Lake and birds everywhere.
Probably a "best kept secret" breakfast location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HambaEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your positive and cheerful comments about our breakfast and the venue. Quarry Lake Inn is indeed priveleged to have a unique position in this little gem of nature, which we are delighted to be able to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'd like to give this place a 3.5 rating but can't figure out how to do it.

Not a bad place as the first four adjectives in my title indicate but I expect more from four star accommodation. Below I've listed some examples of where the service was lacking and could definately be improved. We'd just come from a cheaper, 3 star accommodation in Port Elizabeth which offered all of these services to a higher standard so I don't see why the Quarry Inn couldn't have done the same:

- The rooms had almost none of the toiletries that you would generally expect (although they did offer a small selection of fresh fruit daily which was nice). I was surprised to see that my room had no shampoo or shower gel at all - fortunately I had brought my own.

- The selection of TV channels was really limited

- When we wanted to go down to the bar - which closes at 7.45 pm - for a sun downer at about 6 pm we were told that we couldn't use it for some reason and that there was a minibar in our room. We'd need to use that and just sit on the covered deck outside. Since they advertised the bar service in the information packs in the rooms, I thought that this was poor showing

- I was travelling with my elderly parents. I'd booked a separate room for them and when we got there they allocated them the double room. This would have been fine except that it was up a flight of stairs whereas my room was on the ground floor. There was no difference between the two rooms at all and if there was a lift available, they didn't point it out to us.

- Breakfast was mediocre. I'd give it a 6 out of 10. Bacon all dry and unappetising, soft poached egg too hard etc etc

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thankyou for your positive comments about Quarry lake Inn.
With regard to your concerns,: Our staff are trained to oblige with any requests, and I am sure we could have arranged a ground floor room on request. Our TV Channels conform to the normal "Hotel Bouquet" subscription, whereby the most appropriate 9 channels are pre-selected. All our guests are most welcome to use the deck at any time, and drinks are available from our Main Honesty Bar or from Mini-Bars in the rooms. Hair and Body gel is contained in a dispenser attached to the wall in the shower. We have recently introduced a small bottle of the same into the basket of guests amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East London
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
186 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
177 reviews
17.0 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Lake Inn

Property: Quarry Lake Inn
Address: Quartzite Drive, off Pearce Street, | PO Box 20833, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarry Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quarry Lake Inn is a 4 star property, overlooking the Lake in a quiet suburb of East London. All 16 rooms are luxuriously appointed and have views over the lake , garden, or pool. Each room is equipped with a mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilties, wi-fi, air-con, hairdryer, TV, ensuite bathroom with separate shower. Conference Facilties consist of a state of the art conference room, with overhead projector, sound, drop-down motorised screen, flip-boards. Conference lunches can be enjoyed on the deck overlooking the lake . Secure Parking, airport shuttle arranged, dinner can be ordered in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quarry Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing