We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable boutique hotel”
Review of Quarry Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quarry Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed her during the annual buffalo regatta. Modern buildings. Beautifully peaceful and serene surroundings. Large and comfortable air conditioned rooms which were a blessing on a particularly hot and humid weekend in East London. Scrumptious breakfast and pleasant staff. All round a very pleasant place to stay. We will be recommending this to parents coming down next year for the event!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JohnMac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks so much for your helpful comments about Quarry Lake Inn as a positive option and recommendation to others, for staying with us during the Buffalo Regatta. February is indeed an extremely humid time in East London. So glad that our top quality air-conditioning system was a bonus ! Our staff appreciate your positive comments re service. We will endeavor to continue this effort ongoing .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Quarry Lake Inn is situated right in the middle of East London, minutes away from any destination, yet its location on the edge of the lake makes it a haven of tranquility away from the bustle - a perfect spot to recharge and relax. Rooms are designed around the business traveller and well appointed. Bathrooms are currently being refitted to discerning standards. Breakfast always good, staff friendly and happy to accommodate most needs. Dinner unfortunately not available but there are a number of restaurants in close proximity. Recommend Grazia on the beachfront.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thankyou for your positive comments on our setting and service as well as room upgrades. We do agree that our tranquil setting is what sets us apart. Our staff have great pride in their commitment to service and appreciate your comments. Hope to see you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great accommodation, much better than the sea front hotels which looked a bit tacky. Very centrally located – walking distance from the Spur, less than 5min from the beaches by car. Definitely staying there again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thankyou for your positive review which we do value ! Definitely hope to see you back again next year for Ironman !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thank you to Quarry Lake Inn for a wonderful relaxed New Years Eve amid the ruckus that was in East London. Everything was superb, from the scrumptious breakfast to the lovely room overlooking the water. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thankyou for sharing your enjoyment with us. We do agree that the situation on the Quarry Lake is the most peaceful in East London. We trust that you will return soon to enjoy more of the special tranquilllity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We checked in extremely late due to some car issues and the security guard was waiting for us with our keys on arrival. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the breakfast setting is very nice beside the lake. An overall clean, reliable wonderfully located hotel

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thankyou for your positive review ! We are so glad to hear you had a good experience especially when checking in late as we always like to know that these after hours plans are in place and working well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quarry lake Inn !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Quarry Lake Inn is situated right next to the Lake and as such has a very peaceful setting in lush gardens with lots of birdsong. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff welcoming, helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was enjoyable with a delicious fresh fruit salad and the Nespresso machine adding special touches which elevate it above the norm. We stayed at there for the waterpolo tournament and it is very conveniently located for easy access (a 5 min walk) to the Joan Harrison pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thankyou for your positive comments. Our team is very happy to read these good comments as they have a great pride in their work. Also we are glad to hear that we are a good option as close proximity to Joan Harrison Pool. Look forward to seeing you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a pleasant and enjoyable business trip stay at Quarry Lake in East London. From the pleasant, helpful telephonic booking to being greeted and welcomed on arrival.... The setting and the gardens are beautiful.
What a pleasure to come back to at the end of busy day.
Only problem is the verandah overlooking the day had me day-dreaming every morning over breakfast and so not wanting to leave.... :-)
Will definitely be returning to Quarry Lake on my next trip to EL.
Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee-ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuarryLakeInn, Owner at Quarry Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thankyou for your comments about you stay at Quarry Lake Inn. Tranquillity is a great description of our area and the services we provide reflect this. Hope and trust to see you back at Quarry Lake Inn soon 1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East London
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
639 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 14 in East London
188 reviews
17.0 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarry Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarry Lake Inn

Address: Quartzite Drive, off Pearce Street, | PO Box 20833, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarry Lake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quarry Lake Inn is a 4 star property, overlooking the Lake in a quiet suburb of East London. All 16 rooms are luxuriously appointed and have views over the lake , garden, or pool. Each room is equipped with a mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilties, wi-fi, air-con, hairdryer, TV, ensuite bathroom with separate shower. Conference Facilties consist of a state of the art conference room, with overhead projector, sound, drop-down motorised screen, flip-boards. Conference lunches can be enjoyed on the deck overlooking the lake . Secure Parking, airport shuttle arranged, dinner can be ordered in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quarry Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing