We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
See More Guest House
Ranked #3 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, I loved the manner in which this place is decorated - lovely blend between modern and antique. 2nd highlight was the bed - the linen felt really nice and soft, and whatever detergent they use is well chosen because there is no residual smell. I loved the softness of the pillows. Plates and utensils are included in the room. Another nice touch was the collection of DVD's available for guests to use in their rooms, or alternatively to watch in the large flat screen TV in the lounge. The DVD player in the room also had a USB slot, which I used.

Moving on to the negatives... Parking space was very limited. My only big gripe, however, was that the room I was put into was definitely NOT as described in the internet. It was very inferior to what I'd booked. Since it was the only room still available, I had no choice but to take it. I implore the owners to correct the descriptions of their rooms on the Internet sites such as Booking.com and Hotels.com.

When all is said ad done, this is a very nice place to stay for extended periods.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    19
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
31
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I really feel at home here, it truly is my 'home away from home'. Luxurious, clean rooms with all the comforts. Large DVD selection with DVD players in each room, as well as large TV-room for guests. Pool area, and an outstanding breakfast. Lesley is the perfect host, and makes one feel like family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This guesthouse could have just been another well appointed guesthouse but it moved into the excellent category with it's really excellent finishing touches.

Our little family of 3 stayed in one room as we were just passing through, but the sleeper couch for my 8 year old was very comfortable and the room was just big enough for the 3 of us to not feel too squashed. The furnishings or the room and the guesthouse are of a high quaity and in addition to the normal amenities we had a small fridge, microwave and some crockery and cutley so we could warm up food if we wanted to. This is very useful if you don't want to eat out all the time.

The guesthouse had some great facilities like a common lounge which my husband and I used once we had put our son to bed. All the rooms have easy access to the lounge so there is no problem leaving a sleeping child in the room. The common lounge has access to the full DSTV package (rooms have a restricted package) as well as providing you with an extensive DVD library in case you can't find anything on DSTV. There is an honesty bar and snack bar if you get thirsty or peckish. I also noticed a gas braai which presumably can be used by guests next to the pool as well as a computer with Internet access.

The yummy breakfast was included in the rates and the guesthouse offers dinner (pre-ordered only) but we didn't eat in.

A number of the guests were businessmen and certainly the location, service and facilities would make it an attractive option for business. As a family, the guesthouse worked well for us too!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 2 which was very close to the common lounge which was very practical for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

See More Guest House is beautiful, and so are the hosts. The rooms are well decorated and the hospitality was Top Notch. We were given five star treatment and we had a splendid time.

Room Tip: Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByteBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

A great stay for the Buffalo Regatta - see you next year!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Vosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Excellent communication in advance of stay with good email contact, and arranging of dinner in advance. Unfortunately downhill from there. Made to feel very unwelcome on arrival, told there was no WiFi when there is and dinner was pretty poor. Also made to feel like us being there was an imposition. Cockroaches in the bathroom were an unwelcome surprise. Would not recommend this place, surprised it has such good reviews.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See-More-Guest-House, Owner at See More Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
This guest was contacted immediately after this review was posted, in order to get to the bottom of the situation. The complaints were discussed in a constructive manner which allowed us to get to the very heart of the issue, which, in the end, turned out to be more of a misunderstanding than anything else.

For example, our WiFi was up and working the whole time, but somewhere down the line the info got muddled and the guests got the wrong message.

We feel that the grievances of this particular guest were dealt with in the most sensitive manner and that there was a positive outcome in the end.

We appreciate all reviews, as they give as an opportunity to better our services for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso County, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

By far one of the coolest, nicest places I have ever stayed throughout my world travels.

Stayed 3 nights (wish it would have been more) during my 2010 summer world cup holiday with 3 of my friends and had a blast here. It's family owned and operated, and they maintain it very well. All the rooms are very nice, the breakfast is superb, and the location couldn't be better.

It's a 5 minute walk to the beach (Indian Ocean) and a 20 minute walk to Downtown East London. It's in an incredibly safe neighborhood, in a lush green area (we actually saw some monkeys in the area), and it honestly reminded me of the luxury beach houses in San Diego, CA. East London was also one of the only places in SA where we felt safe enough to walk around during the day and night, and the owners give great advice on places to check out. If you want to stay in for the night the ownders keep an enormous volume of DVDs to watch, keep a fridge stocked full of goodies, and leave a nice menu of places that deliver. It was such a treat staying here.

When reflecting on my trip to SA and whether or not I would be back, my trip to East London and particularly See More Guest House gives me a reason to say yes. It's the perfect location for travelers that want to get a relaxing, safe SA vacation next to numerous wild life reserves without all the big city hassle and uncleanliness Joburg and Capetown have to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 13 in East London
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Place Boutique Guesthouse
Park Place Boutique Guesthouse
#2 of 143 in East London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to See More Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about See More Guest House

Property: See More Guest House
Address: 14 Montrose Avenue | Bunkers Hill, East London 5241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — See More Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of tropical gardens rich with bird life, with views of the Indian Ocean just beyond the valley, See More Guest House is a haven of peace and tranquility on the Eastern Cape coast. Whether you are a leisure traveler or a busy executive looking for a quiet environment after a busy day, you will experience sheer luxury in a relaxed friendly environment, guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your See More Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing