We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenny and Piet Bothma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chimney's Guest House
Ranked #12 of 143 East London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very comfortable rooms and spacious bathroom. There was only one concern and that was the fridge which had a very bad smell when opened.
Staff were friendly. The personal touches such as the chocolate on the bed and the fresh towels was wonderful. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Chimney's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The guest house is in a good location, very easy to find, rooms are comfortable and the service is excellent. I enjoyed my stay and I'd recommend your guest house to my circle of friends and business colleagues.



  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mcebisi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

On the day of my check-in I received a personal SMS from the owner, Zenda, confirming my stay. I was shown to my room by a friendly staff member and the room was excellent value-for-money.

Bedding was clean and the mattress slept very well. The shower had great water pressure and maintained a constant temperature. The room was spacious and comfortable.

The location is also great, close to shops and restaurants and on a main road, making ti easy to get in to the city for business. I would also recommend Chimneys for a couples retreat.

I forgot my phone charger in the room and Zenda promptly posted it to me, saving me the cost fo replacing it.

Unfortunately I did not have time to join Zenda for breakfast, but the breakfast room looked inviting and the smells from the kitchen were very appetising.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3, which had a self-catering kitchen, twice the size of my kitchen at home, with wh...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

There isnt much to say other than call and book a room if you travelling to East London. Zenda is great, i sleep so peaceful there and am always well rested. Definately value for money.
Comfort and a relaxing environment situated close to many food outlets. Convenient and cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Zelda immediately helped out when we were in a spot of bother with a previous booking at another guesthouse and we had a wonderful time! Our room was very nice and spacious! It was quiet and we could sleep late, which we appreciated!! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CiskaK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was really disappointed in this establishment. It looked reasonable from the website and was located in the area I wanted to be in and had one previous rating on Tripadvisor that looked fine. However, I was left with the real impression that everything is done on the cheap.

It all started with a call from my travel agent at 5:35pm asking where I was as the guest house was asking. Luckily I was only 10 minutes away as, upon inquiry, I was informed by the lady running the place that they close at 6pm! What sort of accommodation establishment closes at 6? Especially one that caters to business people. Needless to say, she could not get me into my room fast enough and leave. It was then that I discovered that there was no soap in the bathroom (only a few tired looking sachets of bath foam which I am not sure why they were there as there was only a shower!). Also, while there was wifi (although the signal was very poor), I could not locate the password anywhere (and certainly not where they later told me it was recorded) and thus no internet. Also, there was a leak in the bathroom plumbing and it flooded the bathroom. They did fix this the next day.

The rooms also had a very musty smell. Clearly they are not aired regularly.

The room itself was clean but everything was rather threadbare. Only a single bath towel was given and it too was very thin. A small built in desk was cluttered with a microwave and a kettle. There was some sort of machine running loudly outside my room window for the two nights I stayed there.

I went out in the evening and on the first evening I was somewhat surprised to find the access through which I had entered upon arrival now locked so I had to find my own way round the side through the garden. It had been raining and there was no proper lighting especially down the steps which were dark, wet and slippery. Actually very dangerous.

The breakfast was fine and the fresh fruit was good. However, not once did the lady in charge actually move from her office and chat to the guests or check whether everything was in order. In fact, she had a decidedly disinterested demeanor and on the firm morning she sat in her office doing email in what is really the only busy time of the day one would suspect. On the next day she sat checking Facebook! While I must admit that the issues raised the first day were attended to, I would have expected that the person in charge would at least check up that everything was in order the next day.

To cap it all, on night two, now armed with the wifi password, I found that there was no signal in my room!

With an abundance of guest houses in East London, I definitely will not be returning to this one!

Room Tip: The best advise I can give is to go to one of the many other similarly priced guest houses in East L...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I got the chance to stay at this lovley little place, and must say it was soooo nice, Breakfast filles you up till lunch time, the rooms are sooo well done and classy, will go back again, Just Loved it all and all

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snapper652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
603 reviews
2.9 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arendsnes Holiday and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
194 reviews
12.0 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
3.9 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney's Guest House

Address: 34 Bonza Bay Road | Beacon Bay, East London 5241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range: £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney's offers guests a warm, friendly atmosphere in a safe environment with excellent service and high levels of hospitality. We offer a filling but different breakfast every morning . Dinner is available on request. Should you wish to peruse the local restaurants, Chimneys is within walking distance of many excellent eateries. The guest houses are secured with high walls and remote controlled gates and we provide secure off-street parking for guests. Separate entrances to the guest rooms allow guests to have unrestricted access as they require. All rooms are tastefully decorated and are en-suite with queen beds except Room 10 and 12 with twin beds, TV, a bouquet from DSTV and MNET. All rooms have mini fridges, microwaves and coffee making facilities. Our self catering flat is fully equipped with a full bathroom. Centrally situated Chimneys 1 is in Bonza Bay Rd and we are directly off the N2 and just 3 minutes away from local beaches and within walking distance to the local shopping malls and restaurants. Our second guest house is 2 minutes drive from the main guest house and is as comfortable as the main guest house. Guests are welcome to enjoy the sunshine at the outdoor pool at Chimneys 1 and the sun-deck or create a feast using our braai/barbecue facilities. Chimney's is situated 15 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from the city centre allowing for easy access and travel. We are also close to the Quinera and Nahoon river mouths for outdoor enthusiasts. There are a number of game reserves and entertainment areas nearby and several excellent coastal resorts and restaurants. As we are here to provide the best hospitality service possible to our guests, we request that all of us including our other guests are treated with respect. When our guests enter our properties, they become normal humans like the rest of us and will all be treated in the same manner, no matter their degree, financial status, occupation, race or age! Check in times: STRICTLY BETWEEN 13h00 TO 18H00 week days and STRICTLY BETWEEN 16h00 to 18h00 weekend and public holidays Where flights are delayed, guests need to inform the guest house from departing airport. We do make provision for guests arriving very early, but this must be arranged with the guest house prior to arrival. Check out times: Before 09h00 daily FOR SECURITY REASONS WE DO NOT ALLOW ANY OTHER VISITORS AT OUR ESTABLISHMENTS OTHER THAN THE PAYING GUESTS!! Camping Cots are available should guests have babies. We also welcome school and sport groups. We reserve the right to place guest in comfortable rooms as we see fit. Whilst every reasonable precaution will be taken to ensure the safety of our guests and their possessions on these premises, the owners, management and staff of CHIMNEYS GUEST HOUSE will not be held responsible by any guest for damage to the guest's person, damage or loss to the guest's possessions which they may suffer from whatsoever cause. Right of admission reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chimney's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing