We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECURITY A HUGE PROBLEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Road Lodge East London
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in East London
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am a frequent guest at the Road Lodge in East London and have always found their staff to be AMAZING! However, on the night of 16 December 2012 at 01h30 I was awoken by the opening of my double locked bedroom door and had three people (2 men and a woman) walk into my room! I went berserk and managed to get them out before they had time to do whatever it was they had intended to! 10 minutes later the phone in my room rang and a man said he was sorry it was a mistake.... Damn right it was!! Keeping in mind that I was in a room on the ground floor and about three doors down from the reception desk - one has to wonder at the lapse in security. The next morning I complained to the receptionist on duty... Eventually I spoke to a Duty Manager - his explanation was that the security guard had been given the master key and sent to get linen from the linen room, on his way back to reception 2 people stopped him and said that they had locked themselves out of their room and indicated to him that room 10 (my room) was in fact theirs. Without checking whether or not they were actually guests the security guard had used the master key (over riding the double lock) and let them into MY room. As a woman on her own (my husband was in hospital – the reason for my stay) I was horrified. A half-hearted apology was all that I received. I had no choice but to spend one more night at the Road Lodge - with the door barricaded with a chair :(. I then managed to get accommodation at the Blue Bend B&B in Beacon Bay where I stayed for a further 7 nights - while slightly more expensive it was worth every cent. Road Lodge (City Lodge, etc) will never again see me in ANY of their properties.

Room Tip: Not a safe place for a woman on her own to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TNT-Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We(myself and hubby) stayed and East London Road Lodge for 4 days from 29 Dec - 2 jan 2013.The staff was so professional and neat.

The lodge is safe and clean. I highly recommend this lodge especially if your budget is tight but you don't want to compromise quality and safety.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIYANDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Very basic, small rooms with pretty awful decor, but the price is reasonable and it is nice and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Room was clean although tiny.
Worth it if you just passing through and need to put your head down for a few hours

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 14 in East London
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#13 of 14 in East London
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
254 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge East London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge East London

Address: Cheltenham Road | Selbourne, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge East London 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Road Lodge East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing