We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico in East London”
Review of Tu Casa B&B

Tu Casa B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tu Casa B&B
Ranked #27 of 150 East London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

I got here because the hostel I stayed the first night was not available for the next night. I was lucky because this was a much better place. The owner and her mother are incredibly warm and welcoming and I regretted we could not stay any longer.
It is indeed a home away from home.
Rooms are large and nicely decorated, free wifi provided and the breakfast delicious. Should be higher in the ranking, Tripadvisor !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilam1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Helena Vd Ham, owner of Tu Casa B&B is one marvelous lady. Always got a lovely smile on her face and together with her mom they are a team that makes you feel you are at home. The rooms are spacious and the beds are stunning.

I have to comment her on the breakfast she prepared for me. This lady knows how to cook and I just loved the omelette that she prepared for me. Most of the times I do not get into any conversation with hosts but these two ladies drags you into chatting with them and then a whole new world opens in front of you.

You guys are amazing. Please keep up the great work and personalities that you are.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The BnB is very lovely and nice decorated. It has a fridge and microwave, TV plus Wifi, Bathroom with spacious shower. Just booked the room and therefore cannot say anything regarding the food. The BnB is in Nahoon, which is not in the center of East London. Without a car you cannot do anything there. In case you want to pay directly at the BnB with card an extra fee applies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

This Mexican Style (Frida Kahlo-themed, really) B'n'B offers great service in a homey atmosphere. The hosts pets (a black cat and a parrot) add to the flair of the place and make it even more lovable.

Locationwise it might miss out a bit, not being in the very center of East London, but in our view that was almost an advantage, because it's in a quiet neighbourhood with a couple of shops and the beach nearby.

The Tu Casa B'n'B has 4 secured parking spots and DsTV facilities in all 4 rooms. The rooms are further equipped with coffee and tea making facilities and you get a rusk and a chocolate each upon arrival. The rooms and the en-suite bathrooms are tastefully decorated in different colours with love and much attention to detail. We felt absolutely at home there.

The best thing about the Tu Casa B'n'B are the hosts though. Helena, her husband and her mother run the place as a family business and their dedication to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible shows in everything they do. The breakfast they serve is absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey and a cooked meal and fresh bread. If you book in advance, you can even order dinner. We didn't know about that option before our arrival, but we sure wish we had.

We had such a nice, satisfying stay at the Tu Casa B'n'B that we will definitely come back when we're in East London again! Go there - it's great value for money and you'll meet some of the nicest people on this planet!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We needed a place to stay to stay near Beach Road in East London and found this little beauty. A wonderful bed and breakfast with friendly, accommodating, helpful staff. The accommodation price was reasonable considering it was peak holiday season, R550 for a double room incl. full breakfast.

The décor and ambiance of the property is fantastic, my wife loved it. The rooms are a good size, a wonderfully comfortable king size bed, the bathroom was more than sufficient with large shower and all the other essentials. There is also a beauty salon on the property where appointments can be booked.

The only drawback was that it was mid summer and the rooms have no air-conditioning, there is however a fan provided.

I would definitely stay here again!!! I look forward to visiting Helena and her team again in April.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skywhalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank heinzdieterc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofreed12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
701 reviews
1.8 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#13 of 14 in East London
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 14 in East London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Casa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Casa B&B

Address: 2 Ascot Road, East London 5241, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tu Casa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing