We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING NOT GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Splendid Inn King David
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in East London
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel is not what it is made out to be, the area is very dangerous, reports of rapings and murders in the same area have been reported and we were shocked at the state of it when we arrived, if we had know about this prior to booking online we would definitely not have booked here. when we arrived there was not power at all, our paper work had stated that we were from zimbabwe but we are actually from australia, we were told to take our luggage up the stair case with no help at all, we then arrived at the room and it was not even made up yet, the room was filthy and still had macdonalds left overs in it. we then took our stuff back out and left, as we left we noticed a whole heap of suspicious looking guys out near our car. we left the immediately and checked in at the hemmingways casino for $50 extra we got 5 star accom. including breakfast. Please dont risk your life and stay at king david.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is really not worth staying in. For the rate you would expect anything, but there is nothing positive on this hotel. It is old, dirty and the staff is unfriendly. I would really not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RenaChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for two nights before meeting up with our group. While the cost per night was a reasonable value, the hotel needs updating. We booked a room with two beds, but the hotel did not have one available upon arrival. They offered complimentary breakfast and we moved to a different room the next day. The manager was helpful and apologetic. The desk staff was not as helpful, perhaps due to language barriers. When we asked for desk staff for ideas on what to do during the day, the staff did not have a local map, could not give us clear suggestions (even just asking for directions to a post office), etc. Breakfast was average, but a bit overpriced for the value. The hotel is very close to the beach (walking distance), but only safe to do during daylight hours. Street noise made it difficult to sleep through the night. We kept windows open as there was not any air conditioning. There are better hotels or b&b's in East London for the value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LAMMER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My 89 year old mother and myself flew from Cape Town to East London to meet with family we have not seen in a long time. We decided to have dinner at the King David Hotel where the two of us were staying for two nights. We pre-booked the dinner table - even told the waiter what we would eat: curry. The next evening our table was waiting for us, but an hour later when the curry arrived, it was ice cold. Not room temperature - ICE COLD. We asked to see the manager - that never happened. When our food was returned another hour later, it was room temperature - NOT HOT. Fortunately all nine of us had a good sense of humour. We decided to try the cheesecake (no coffee, because we were not sure how long we would have to wait for that).
The cheesecake, the waiter said, came "straight from the cellar". They were rock hard, iced little round shapes with ice cream on top. The waiter told us that we must use the fish knives to chop up the "cheese cake". Under the ice cream we found a rock hard iced strawberry. Halfway through the "cheese cake" we got up and left. Later in the room, I received a phone call from the waiter who insisted that I pay him "cash" for the meal. I refused and when he came to the room with the bill for me to sign, there were obvious mistakes on it which he had to rectify first. He asked if I would like to speak to the manager and I said I would. The manager phoned me and asked "how he could help". I told him an hour or two ago he would have been able to help, but now it was too late. He told me the iced cheese cake is "normal" and that this is how they serve it - I told him that I did not believe him. He did not apologise, just said they would give me 10% discount on the "food only" bill. The adjusted bill arrived and I signed.
What should have been a cosy, memorable evening, turned out to be a very bitter taste in the mouth.
I certainly would not recommend this hotel with its cold staff to anyone. The milk in the room was sour and when I reported it there was not a word of apology or an offer to replace it. The remote for the television was missing and the bedlights did not work. The hotel's driver whom we pre-booked and was supposed to pick us up at the airport did not turn up. All minor irritations that culminated in that "dinner".
I do not blame the waiter (who knew he was serving us cold food), or the cook even (who knew he was dishing up cold food), but I blame the manager for covering up the bad mistakes and not apologise or compensate properly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlettaCrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Despite poor reviews I decided to stay here because it was cheap and I just needed somewhere to stay for one night before a flight from East London airport. The area does not feel particalarly safe and there is a noisey nightclub just accross the road. The hotel itself is in need of redecoration and did not seem at all busy. The reception staff and porter were courteous and helpful. The room was large and clean, but the furniture had seen better days. I didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on that.
I booked this hotel not expecting much, so I was neither thrilled nor disappointed with it. For somewhere cheap to stay it does the job.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedi_Donkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

total rip-off
old & smelly hotel = feels like a time-travel back to the 70s.
service = next to non-existant
the "general manager" is a joke and should first read up on customer service before dealing with clients.
next time i need to stay in east london i would rather stay at a camping ground, youth hostel or park bench.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mk3za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

No heat, no air conditioning, loud, and in a very dangerous part of town.
I received no wake up call, my check-out invoice was wrong, I froze at night, and the desk staff was incompetent.
Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
680 reviews
2.3 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#13 of 14 in East London
6 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Inn King David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Inn King David

Address: 25 Inverleith Terrace, East London 5201, South Africa (Formerly Premier Hotel King David)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Inn King David 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London, also known as Buffalo City, lies at the heart of the Inyathi Buffalo route. Although it is one of South Africa's smaller cities, East London is filled with historical depth, a variety of cultural attractions, beautiful people & sandy beaches. It is just a short stroll from one of these spectacular beaches that Splendid Inn King David is situated.Premier Hotel King David offers 80 bedrooms and six conference rooms - able to cater for conventions, conferences, corporate launches, weddings, birthday parties, cocktail evenings and business meetings. Beautiful Victorian buildings, historical attractions & several sporting facilities are all in close proximity to Splendid Inn King David. Guests can enjoy a day at the beach, take a boat trip, enjoy a stroll along the Esplanade or enjoy a round of golf at the oldest golf club in South Africa.Premier Hotel King David offers six conference rooms, able to cater for conventions, conferences, corporate launches, weddings, birthday parties, cocktail evenings and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Splendid Inn King David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing