We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature in all it's beauty”

Mpongo Park Game Private Reserve
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nature in all it's beauty”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A serene game park to visit where you can have a leisurely game drive through the park. The game farm is not huge so we got to see many animals and beautiful terrain. Had lunch at the restaurant where we wtch the hippos frolicking in the sun and water, it was amazing. I recommend this Game Park as it portrays a lovely outing for all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonPuchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lotsa Animals”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

At Mpongo Park we saw quite a lot of animals. The park is close to East London and the park's not huge so you get to see most or all of it without driving much. We also had lunch at the restaurant. The menu isn't big but the food is good and the service there was above average. The people at the gate wasn't friendly and also I was disappointed with the touch farm. They say there is a cow but there was none and I was so looking forward to touching the cow. I will return and maybe the next experience will be better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angel3585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AWESOME TIME”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Recently in a trip to South Africa (East London) me and my family had the pleasure of a game drive at MPONGO PARK... We had lunch overlooking a nice size lake (we looked for the hippos, but they never surfaced)the food was great! Then we went on the game drive with our guide ARCHIE... the drive was most spectacular, and Archie knew so much about the wildlife that he was truly amazing... the man could see several Kilometers away, up a hill, and down the bluff, to the right RHINOS!!!!! (I still think he was hiding his binoculars somewhere)...About halfway through the trip we stopped for water, and a little spread they had prepared for us, including BILTONG, CHICKEN WINGS, and a few other tasty treats... the trip was thorogh and fun, would definitely recommend this to a friend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Untapped potential”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This game park is close to East London and an ideal day trip for the family. the entrance fee is reasonable and the park has a good selection of game - less perhaps than in previous years but nevertheless enjoyable.
With a little attention to detail, perhaps some pic-nic sites in the park itself and/or another food outlet, other than the main restaurant, the customer offering could be enhanced and the potential of this lovely reserve optimized.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Animals did not Dissapoint , but lack of services did”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We were treated to some amazing animal sights , however we were in a hire car and were worried about the roads. We were reassured that they are fine for 2x4 and they are not! We did damage to the car and had to get out at one point to get up a hill. We really enjoyed our time there however and it is cheap . There is no gift shop and the staff were not very welcoming when we went to get a drink on a scorching hot summers day. We spent many,many,many day trips here as kids over the years and were saddened to see you can no longer have a picnic or braai ( barbeque) there . Still worth a trip out and good for the kids

Helpful?
Thank Cazzie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mpongo Park Game Private Reserve also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Mpongo Park Game Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing