We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my thai”
Review of Pla's Thai

Pla's Thai
Ranked #41 of 132 Restaurants in East London
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh my thai”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Best thai food ever, i am from thailand and this restautant equal the food i have eaten anywhere in this world, will got back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAI645, Owner at Pla's Thai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We value your input and are delighted that you enjoyed the meal. Callum & Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“A great place”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

It was an amazing place not just that the food was absolutely amazing and the waiting staff impeccable its the friendly and welcoming feeling you get when you sit down... its by far the best place to go to enjoy a Thai beer eat some authentic Thai food while enjoying the company and the friendly service. With the promise of new lunch specials and new items on menu's the owners will certainly attract more people.

Helpful?
Thank Armand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAI645, Owner at Pla's Thai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good afternoon Armand. Your review of our establishment shows that we are heading in the right direction. Two months since we took over the restaurant it is really encouraging to know that we are upholding the reputation that was built up by the previous Owners. We eagerly await your next visit.

Callum & Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very happy Valentine's dinner”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

WE were blessed with the only unreserved table. What did we expect? It's Friday and Valentine's.
We had a wonderful evening. The waitress was slick and very helpful. (No mean task when you are serving 20 covers a la carte and serving them drinks.)
The food was delicious. Generous portions, perfectly cooked and delightfully seasoned. I noticed with a smile that there were no condiments on the table. Autocondimentators, beware!
The bill was most reasonable.
We were told that the restaurant has new owners. I can only how that they keep up the excellent standards.
It will be most enjoyable visiting again to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAI645, Owner at Pla's Thai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good afternoon.

Our apologies for the belated response. We are so glad that we had the privilege of hosting you. We were less than a week into the business (with the previous Owners holding our hands and giving us guidance). Valentine's Day was a real pressure test for us but we are now on our own and going strong. We hope to see you here again in the near future so that you can give us feedback on our progress.

Callum & Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went here awhile back when I was pregnant and craving Thai food. I've lived in Thailand almost 18 years, so I may not be the best one to rate a restaurant outside of Thailand as naturally they won't have all the right (fresh) ingredients, but considering that, it's not bad. The decor is nice and gives off a small, cosy feel. Owners are friendly and the wifey is typically thai with that shy smile, polite and hospitable. Not a bad place to go when you're craving something other than the typical East London fried chips, steak or burgers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelique205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THAI645, Owner at Pla's Thai, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good afternoon Angelique

Your review is highly valued. We took over the restaurant on 10th February 2014 (the previous owners were assisting us at the time), so you were one of our first customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again and hopefully get some positive feedback now that we have found our feet.


Callum & Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We've had both take aways and a sit down meal here. The consistency of both meals was excellent. All four meals we had were of the highest quality. Enjoy your meal.

Helpful?
Thank PeterLacey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pla's Thai also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Pla's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing