We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm with lots of character”
Review of Marisol - CLOSED

Marisol
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
East London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm with lots of character”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Marisol is the first restaurant I found in east London and it turned out to be a very special hidden gem. The ambience was relaxed and warm with comforting aromas wafting from a busy kitchen. The waitress was extremely sweet, attentive and knew how to allow us the space to linger over courses. I had the generous mussel starter which was enrobed in a rich homemade tomato sauce that did not overpower the delicate mussels. My husband had the calamari which was by far one of the best I have ever tried - succulent, not overdone and delightfully drenched in a lemon, butter, garlic and light cream sauce. We decided to try the Goan prawn curry for mains and I have no regrets -even though I am not a great fan of coconut cream, this curry had the balance of sweet, spicy and savory. It was heaven on a plate especially since it was authentically accompanied by sliced banana, sambals, and a yummy chilli paste! The only constructive criticism I have is the very limited wine on offer - I would recommend you take your own- corkage is affordable. The other criticism would be the lemon meringue was too sweet and not 'tart' enough, but that may be a personal choice. Marisol, in its entirety, is a lovely dining experience - I appreciate the lover taste in the food :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Varsha0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slow Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We've been wanting to try the food here since we have heard a lot of good things about Marisol Restaurant. The night started out great. The owner was very friendly and accommodating, the waiter was attentive and our starters didn't take long to serve. The starters were very tasty and there are a variety to choose from. However, our main meals took too long to serve. We understand that the restaurant was full and very busy since it was Valentine's Day, but the least they can do is warn or update us that our orders were going to take long to serve. We followed-up with our waiter several times, but for some reason he kept on forgetting to get back to us. When we finally did get our main course, they were very good but I wouldn't say they were worth the almost one hour wait. We decided not to order dessert because we didn't to wait again. On a good note, they tried to make the ambience romantic for the occasion. There was a violinist entertaining the diners. We will most likely go back to try the other food, but maybe on a less busier day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erasms2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Great food excellent atmosphere. A lovely guest, pleasant staff and afgordable prices. A must for locals and visitors.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mat v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jenny Bonza Bay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very good foos but a little pricey - nice atmosphere - in good area - service was a tad slow but overall nice restaurant

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh Portuguese food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were a large group who went for lunch at Marisol and what an incredible meal it was! From the starters (try the white bait!!) to the mains, everyone raved about their food. The chicken peri-peri is a must have, but it does take a while to prepare, so order as soon as you get there! The venue is very casual and that suited us just fine. We had a range of food off the menu from the Peri-peri chicken, to calamari, to prawns in beer, to the brinjal - everything was delicious and all the plates were returned licked clean!!
We can highly recommend the restaurant. In season, be warned to pre-book, as it is very popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marisol also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing