We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza, Burgers, feel good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanook Cafe

Sanook Cafe
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pizza, Burgers, feel good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Sanook is a well run restaurant with great pizza and special burgers (and other foods as well). It is a perfect family restaurant and has a great atmosphere (almost European, but the sidewalk tables are not quit your European feel - the local street is not much to look at). Excellent personalized service makes this a must visit and you will get great vale for money!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Oldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    110
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sanook has taken East London by storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Sanook has been a hit with the EL crowd. Knowing that you will get a great meal and good service for little money brings me back again and again. If i don't want to cook i go to sanook :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We went out for dinner with wife, MIL and SIL and had a good meal. Service was good and friendly. Expect a quirky little gourmet burger joint tucked away in an alley. The food is well presented and very tasty. Burger are what they are well known for. The patties are delicious homemade. I was very impressed with the quality. I ordered my burger rare and I got it rare. Other guests had pizza, thought the price was a bit heavy for the special Steven Seagal. The restaurant was also very accommodating to my wife's young niece. She got some dough and stamps to create dough cakes. However due to the cosy nature of the place it's not ideal for young children. There was a small mistake on my bill, but I got it sorted out no problem with the waiter. I will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tasting steak...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The "Fillet Special" has definitely got to be the best fillet steak I have ever tasted! It is always pleasant at Sanook and the service is excellent...

Helpful?
1 Thank CaylinLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We joined friends for a birthday bash at Sanook, which was our first visit. I had a delicious and different pizza, and loved the decor. If you like beer, I believe that the beers were good

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank abdinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanook Cafe also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Sanook Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing