We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family/kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Blue Market

Lavender Blue Market
Ranked #6 of 122 Restaurants in East London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for family/kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place with lovely outdoor seating area, excellent for kids with an outside play area. Availability of a Wifi facility would be a great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    12
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Slice of Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Reminded me of Noordhoek in CT - a wonderful , fresh , bustling country and craft market gig. Coffee was excellent; choices were varied and wholesome. I unfortunately didn't markedly enjoy my scrambled eggs on toast but will be back to sample the delicious looking open sandwiches and home baked cheesecake! C u there :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Varsha0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Nice relaxed venue. A great place to take a visiting exPat.
The coffee is outstanding. Don't mess about - just order the bottomless mug.
The food is about average, I'm afraid. In all fairness, the description of what you're getting is given on the menu board, but there are some liberties taken with classical dishes. Pity really. There is little to beat a "proper" Oeufs Florentine, served with limitless coffee, in the sunshine, with family.
The service is cheerful and given with a smile. Plate service, as has regrettably become the norm. (Doesn't anywhere offer silver service still?)
Oh, don't forget to pick up a packet of good ground coffee on your way out.

We'll be back, with our without visitors.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice relaxed informal lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very good salads, etc., with outside or inside seating. Very pleasant relaxed atmosphere, plenty of secure parking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vanilla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cintsa East
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WE love Lavender Blue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We love Lavender Blue. Everything is good. The only draw back is the queuing to order. The food is freshly prepared per order. One of our favourite places.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CintsaEastSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavender Blue Market also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Lavender Blue Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing