We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel Regent
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in East London
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfort in a good location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Upon entrance, the foyer has a touch of luxury. With the two (and not so friendly people) manning the reception desk, my wait on the queue felt like days. The room that I was initially assigned to on the third floor was smelling of fresh paint but without any hassle I was relocated to the fourth floor. From my new sea-facing room, the sound of the beach was what I needed after a long business day; and so was the view after sunrise.
The restaurant is accessible via the lift, downstairs but did not impress me, - neither my business partner.
Overall, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is good but move as far as possible from the (noisy) lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkhuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Regent, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

Please accept our appreciation and gratitude for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Premier Hotel Regent.

Your comments have been noted and we are pleased to advise that we will be embarking on accommodation refurbishment at the establishment commencing mid July 2014.

We do appreciate and value your support, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Premier Hotel Regent on your next visit to East London.

Kind regards

Francois van Zyl
General Manager
PREMIER HOTEL REGENT & ELICC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    49
    23
    13
See reviews for
28
27
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the Hotel rooms and breakfast view of sea and sun in the morning excellent. Staff were helpfull and when start knowing you treart you as part of the family. We stayed in 401 which had small fridge and large room with lounge. Some of the Furnitue need to be repir and television old with not the best channels to view.
There are allot of beggers that target the visitors, when you leave the hotel area and the donot take no for a answer.

Room Tip: Corner suites ar large and sunny 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

In a good position overlooking the sea. Hotel looks good inside but rooms are not up to standard. The aircon does not work, TV service is poor with old style TVs and poor channel options. Rooms look like they were last touche dup in the 1970's. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel Regent, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent stay at the Premier Hotel Regent. We appreciate your valuable comments.

Your comments have been noted regarding the room layout and furnishing. We are pleased to advise you that we will be embarking on a major refurbishment to our accommodation commencing mid July 2014. We are very excited about these refurbishments and we are sure that you will be very impressed when you next stay with us.

We do appreciate and value your support, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Premier Hotel Regent on your next visit to East London.

Kind regards

Francois van Zyl
General Manager
PREMIER HOTEL REGENT & ELICC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the premier Hotel Regent for a weekend,I requested an early check in as I was arriving at 06hrs on the morning of the 12/04/14,when I arrived the receptionist on duty(Siya) was already expecting me,I went up to my room which was allocated on the 3rd floor,the view of the Indian Ocean was just fantastic,since I was there for a wedding I changed and got ready I then left the Hotel around Midday,on my return in the evening my room was neatly done,the folowing day I went for breakfast,service and food was fantastic and yes when I got back from breakfast,the room was clean and fresh,its like they are watching your every moove from the moment you walk in the hotel,you are greeted with a smile,I know in most hotels you can not iron for ur self,they have a room on the hotels 4th floor with irons and ironing boards,that was a time saver as I did not have to wait for my clothes to be collected and be brought back and not having to panic that they might be bunt by the chamber maids,I left the hotel at 13hrs on the 14th/04/14 they had no problems with giving a late check out as the check out time is 10:30

Thank you Premier Hotel Management and your team,you do know how to lookk after your guest



  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, Manager at Premier Hotel Regent, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Zolani

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent experience at Premier Hotel Regent.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and most appreciative for your comment on Trip Advisor. We will certainly ensure that all staff concerned are aware of your kind comments.

We value your support greatly and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Hotel Regent when next visiting East London.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Singleton
Resident Manager - Premier Hotel Regent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The ambitions of this hotel are to be business hotel, but the quality and service level is not above 1 star. Room was tiny (as was the bathroom), without view or much light, a very loud airco, and a television system dating back to early 2000s, with poor reception and few channels. The room did not have a refrigerator, the safe was broken, and the carpet and upholstery of the furniture were dirty and stained. Check-in procedures are amateuristic with long waiting times. Credit cards are validated by making a pencil imprint on an ordinary piece of paper. In my case I was subsequently refused credit three times at the restaurant. I had to report to reception myself each time to correct this. It was a denigrating and extremely unwelcoming experience. The wifi service is terrible (only worked in very small part of reception area and restaurant), so doing business was impossible. Even the simplest B&B in SA does better on all counts. Did not work for any of the reasons I chose it for, and was hence overpriced. Complaints were met with a lame sorry and offer of voucher for one free night at Premier. If I would ever return. Overall advice: do not go there!

Room Tip: Do not go there. More expensive rooms have balcony and view of the sea, but still have all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelDoortmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East London hotels

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The East London beach area is quite forlorn and the Hotel Regent certainly adds to this impression. The exterior it's faded and tattered in places. Rooms are small and the bathrooms address cramped. Breakfast was average and the service non existent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located close to town on the esplanade? All staff are very friendly and welcoming. Efficient check in and meal service. Supper and breakfast were very good and represent fair value for money. My credit card was not swiped at check in, so I had to endure frequent interrogation from concerned staff who thought that I may be living under the illusion that all meals and drinks are free.

The hotel seems to mainly cater for visiting government officials.

The room with sea view balcony was very nice. Good bed and clean bedding. However a few maintenance issues included very grubby carpets, and lamps ready to fall from the precarious wall mountings. The TV is quite small.

The shower is an over bath variety with a short curtain. The plentiful towels were put into service in damming the resultant floods from a

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 13 in East London
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 13 in East London
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hampton
The Hampton
#2 of 143 in East London
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Regent

Property: Premier Hotel Regent
Address: 22 Esplanade Street | Quigney, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Hotel Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Regent has spectacular ocean views and is located in South Africa's only river port city, East London. East London, also known as Buffalo City, lies at the heart of the Inyathi Buffalo route. Although it is one of South Africa's smaller cities, East London is filled with historical depth, a variety of cultures, beautiful people and sandy beaches. It is adjacent to one of these spectacular beaches that Premier Hotel Regent is poised. With magical views of the Indian Ocean, this pristine hotel is a mere 15 minute drive to East London's airport and in close proximity to the CBD and various shopping centres. The Premier Hotel Regent, a beachfront hotel in the river port city of East London, provides comfortable and luxurious accommodation for touring groups, business executives, and families alike. It is centrally located within five minutes' drive from major shopping, entertainment, and sports facilities and only 18 minutes from the airport.The Premier Hotel Regent offers excellent business and conference facilities where up to 800 delegates can be accommodated. It is the largest hotel conference venue in the Eastern Cape and ideal for both large and small functions including weddings, summits, and product launches. All the conference rooms are fitted with video and audio-visual equipment to ensure professional presentations. The Premier Hotel Regent takes care of all your accommodation needs with 175 luxury rooms ranging from deluxe suites with jacuzzi's, family suites, and double rooms with their own balconies for panoramic views, to stylish studios which are ideal for touring groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent East London
East London Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing