We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Utopia in the City"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This little gem is worth a visit. I have just spent a week there while on a business trip to East London, it is very central and made getting to my appointments very easy. My room had the most spectacular view, the service was very good especially by the evening staff in the restaurant.
I had a large screen TV in my room with a good selection of channels, but somehow I never got to view much TV as I loved every moment of sitting on the balcony enjoying the most beautiful sunsets while watching all the activity on the beach and on the river.

I highly recommend the Blue Lagoon Hotel and will be returning for another week very soon.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a river and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bungee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

The room was clean and nice. Hotel is far away from other amenities. Without a car you will not survive. Beach clean and accessible but there are no lifeguards. Staff helpful. Good for a quiet weekend with a book and beach walks.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maks0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I werre needing to overnight in East London and chose this Hotel becuase of its ease to the N2. We were put in a 2 bedroom flat, which needed to be upgraded desperately. 1 small TV in lounge with about 5 channels. Bedding was clean but lumpy and towels were grey. Toilet never stopped runnning the entire night and there was way too much Mildew in the shower stall.
Would not do this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hattinghme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Keeping in mind that I am in E. London S.A., the "Lagoon" is a good as any and better than most. The rooms are about average, few t.v. channels are available, no water view from almost all of the rooms, and the cost for goods received is below average. The rooms could do with an upgrade to justify the cost of the venue.
The bar, on the other hand, is pleasant with adequate stocks. The staff is eager to please and I receive good service at a fair price.
The restaurant is somewhat above average with a good menu selection and pleasing food. The head cook is very pleasant and cares about the quality of food being served.
The wait staff is defensive, a little slow, but, under the direction of the cook staff gets the job done.
Overall, an average stay with inflated prices.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2332123ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having used tripadvisor for a few years now I have very rarely had to write a review of somewhere that I thought was truly terrible as I tend to avoid places which get those reviews. However as this hotel had very few reviews I took a bit of a risk and booked it anyway, I'm sorry to say that I really wish that I had not.

Rather than indulge in too much of a rambling and emotive narrative about what I felt was so very poor about this hotel I thought I would do a "pro's and con's" comparison to let other travellers make up their own minds about whether it deserves my 1 star rating:

Pro's

- Good location down on the riverside, with really excellent sunsets
- Friendly bar and restaurant staff

Con's

- Upon arrival I sat out on the terrace to enjoy the sunset only to fall backward and crack my head on the wall because the chair had only 3 legs. It was only luck that prevented me falling through the plate glass window. I took the chair to reception and explained what happened, they simply laughed. There was no apology, no conern for the guest, nothing, just laughter.

- We were told that the little grey electronic key would give us access to the beach by the river (one of the attractions of staying there). However when we went to use it we discovered that the path to the beach was cordoned off and had been entirely dug up - the beach was inaccessible. How the reception staff did NOT know this, I have no idea.

- Upon arrival I noticed that there was considerable construction work going on at the hotel - I asked whether our room was near it, "oh no" I was told. However, it was, of course, facing the construction site. Banging starts at 7.30am by the way - what a nightmare.

- Other trivial points would be that there were cockroaches in our room (nowhere else in our tour did we encounter this) and that the food is expensive for what it is.

My main concern would be that the reception staff were just so plain rude - not even a "did you enjoy your stay" on check out. Chairs can be fixed, constuction completed but if the same uncaring, incompetant staff remain then nothing really changes.

Oh...they then had the cheek to charge me for the room twice!!! (In fairness I did get the second amount refunded).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonHotel, General Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

Dear Vedev,
Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay at the Blue Lagoon Hotel, it is only through honest feedback like what we recieved from you that we can rectify our short comings. We sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations and rendering poor service to you.

At the time of your stay the hotel was nearing a completion of a major refurbishment, which I am delighted to say has been completed, this has included a new walkway to the beach and new patio furniture for the rooms amongst other improvements.

All feedback wether positive or negative is invaluable to us to set standards and benchmarks in order for us to improve or make improvements to our product.

Once again our sincere apologies for the poor service and facilities that you recieved.

Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

My daughters (12 and 8) and I travelled to East London, South Africa in June/ July to meet my husband while he was working overseas.We stayed for the better part of 2 weeks and were treated royally. It is situated on the Indian Ocean and the Nahoon River. Although it was winter there, the pool was lovely and the beaches fantastic for shelling and walking. Our 2 bedroom suite was comfortable and overlooked the Nahoon River as it emptied into the Indian Ocean. We could watch surfers at the famous Nahoon Reef from our spacious balcony/patio. Wonderful warm friendly staff! Clean facilities! Great bar and bartenders! Ideal location! Safe and secure! I would recommend this to anyone travelling to or through the East London area on business or vacation. It has everything you need, and if not Ian, the manager will get it for you! Fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: C Blockzimmer mit direktem Ausblick zur Lagune und Strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonHotel, General Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East London
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#9 of 14 in East London
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#8 of 14 in East London
37 reviews
23.1 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Blue Bend Place | P.O. Box 2177, East London 5205, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: £88 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the site where the Nahoon River meets the warm Indian Ocean, the Blue Lagoon lies nestled in indigenous, sub-tropical foliage. Easily accessible and close to central East London and inland areas, the hotel offers tranquility and seclusion from the bustle of city life. Our hotel offers a delightful blend of stylish garden facing hotel rooms or modern luxury two bedroom lagoon facing suites (self catering available), with easy access to the river and beaches. Self catering suites are also available. The Blue Lagoon offers the Highlander Restaurant, which is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Highlander Restaurant has an enviable reputation of excellent wines, food that roars with flavor and service that whispers. Our Highlander Bar and Cocktail Lounge, overlooking the picturesque Nahoon river, against the river bank, makes this the perfect setting for sun downers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing