We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in East London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went to the restaurant on the 19th dec my birthday and my husband and I sat inside the dining area not on the deck but the view of the lagoon and ocean was magnificent the service we got was excellent and the food though it took very long to arrive was very tasty and we really enjoyed it. Unfortunately the table cloth was dirty but I just turned it around and we carried on with our meal. The place is very clean and I can recommend it for anyone who want to go and relax and enjoy the view and the beautiful soft pleasant music and the good food.

Room Tip: sea view, higher floors less noise and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Be aware this hotel is a huge party venue Friday and Wednesday evenings and they don't warn you in advance! 4 stars it's hard to believe? The staff although accommodating appear to be doing you a big favour! At every turn. I think They position themselves as a conference venue and club Friday and Wednesday so not a place for couples or families. Considering what other alternatives are available in east London I won't be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon for one night and it was amazing.They gave us a nice room with sea and Lagoon view and everything that you need was in the room.We had a small function at the hotel and they gave us the best service and snack platter it was just perfect.
The service you get is excellent.

Room Tip: The room in the corner will be the C block has the best view of sea and Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lol270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great selection and quality of food, well priced , sports bar and great views from dinning room.
Room clean , good selection of satellite tv channels and warm.
Buisiness or pleasure a really quality down to earth hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we hosted an Engagement party in December and the food and service was excellent.We were just near the Highlander bar. We have also had many New Years eve dances there. It is very upmarket with a wide choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: the venue has superb views both day and night, well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is very modern, nicely situated and friendly BUT it could be so much more!!!!
They forgot our wake-up call.
Soap and shampoo not enough for two people.
Rooms nicely appointed but rather small.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Royalcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel but i wanted to leave as soon as we finish our conference , bad service the chef was rude , i reported him to Wesley , the name of the chef was Mbasa, What was bad , the rooms. bathroom with no locks.Unhappy with food , same food as lunch at dinner . Even though i had all bad experience there are few that were outstanding in their customer service , people like Nolubabalo and waitress that serve us (metropolitan) in breakfast and lunch, well done guys keep up good work. It is difficult to find this hotel , no directions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xolile Christop... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlander L, Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Good day Xolile.

Thank you for bringing the points to my attention. Blue Lagoon Hotel apologizes for the poor service received. We will look into the issues and rectify immediately.

Have a great day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East London
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 14 in East London
634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 14 in East London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn King David
Splendid Inn King David
#10 of 14 in East London
188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 14 in East London
39 reviews
23.0 mi away
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Blue Bend Place | P.O. Box 2177, East London 5205, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in East London
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the site where the Nahoon River meets the warm Indian Ocean, the Blue Lagoon lies nestled in indigenous, sub-tropical foliage. Easily accessible and close to central East London and inland areas, the hotel offers tranquility and seclusion from the bustle of city life. Our hotel offers a delightful blend of stylish garden facing hotel rooms or modern luxury two bedroom lagoon facing suites (self catering available), with easy access to the river and beaches. Self catering suites are also available. The Blue Lagoon offers the Highlander Restaurant, which is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Highlander Restaurant has an enviable reputation of excellent wines, food that roars with flavor and service that whispers. Our Highlander Bar and Cocktail Lounge, overlooking the picturesque Nahoon river, against the river bank, makes this the perfect setting for sun downers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing