We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued from water crisis over Christmas”
Review of Graham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Graham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Rescued from water crisis over Christmas”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The municipality at Grahamstown should be criminally charged for not providing water to its citizens - fat chance of that with the fat cats in charge! My mother-in-law lives in Grahamstown and is more often waterless than having water. This Christmas was no excepion. We had to find somewhere to stay.

The Graham came to the rescue - the only hotel in Grahamstown open over the festive period. Very obliging and understanding - we could even have rented the shower facilites by the hour!! We chose to stay.

The hotel is old and the room was "tired" but clean and functional. No DSTV but the radio picked up Radio Algoa - my favourite station so I didn't worry too much. Coffee and tea are provided and the room was reasonably sized. The double bed had obviously seen some heavy weights and sagged but was comfortable enough. But most importantly they were open and had water! They need some reward just for that.

If you don't expect too much you won't be dissappointed. In fact we expected worse and were pleasantly surprised. Aircon that worked, seperate bath and shower and tea and coffee.
Value for money - ok at about R700 b&b per night.

We were here when Grahamstown is deserted. Rhodes is closed and everyone else is at the sea or away. Town was very quiet but I suspect that this is definately not the case in the other months so expect a lot of noise with the students around.

Parking in the street was a worry with crime like it is generally but I am assured that the porter keeps an eye on the cars.

Room Tip: At back of hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
10
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban-SA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

the hotel is clean and well presented - we enjoyed our one night -
it can be noisy if your room is on the main road side -- just put the pillow over your head = if sensitive to noise -- ask for a back room - the hotel is on a main road - not for traffic - but for people having a good time and car guards of course who stay up most of the night --

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterjohn0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Montserrado, Liberia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Its great location for the price. Not much if you looking for upscale. Stayed here for 3 weeks in 2012. But restaurants and shops are close by. Its also quite near the Rhodes University.The staff and service was fairly good, though.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradiah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed for some 10 nights. It is an average hotel. The good thing is the location near main restaurants and cafes and Rhodes University and professional + friendly staff in front desk and restaurant.

Room Tip: rooms just above the reception have wireless internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07amps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Arrived on the Friday night, clean decent room and friendly staff and great location close to Rhodes university. Saturday morning at 3.30 about 15 people shouting outside our room carried on till 4.45 after 2 phone calls to front desk. Saturday after a terrible nights sleep went and saw manager who moved us to a larger, better room and organized free dinner for us I'm sure no other hotel would have done this, overall an excellent stay with great food, great service and very friendly staff! We will definitely be staying here on our next trip in February and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samideering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Graham Hotel in Grahamstown, Eatern Cape Province, South Africa are still being misrepresented as a Protea Hotel Group on the internet even 2 years after it changed to an ordinary hotel.
The guy on duty at the reception desk clearly was guesing the price of the room for 2 persons sharing. When confronted with the price that is clearly displayed on their website at R475-00, the manager had to be called and was forced to change the price to that which was shown on their website (nearly half of what we were quote). To make matters worse we were then shown to our room in another building accross the road which was not the Graham Hotel but Evelyn Guest House. We were shocked to find that we had to walk to another building. The front enterance was locked and we had to eneter down a side walk and round the back of the guest house. Once inside, the phone range and the guy on reception then said that breakfast was not included. This, after we had paid with the understanding that breakfast was included.
Well, Evelyn Guset House has a 4 star rating while The Grahan Hotel a 3 star rating, but should have been graded as a 1 star. The bath has a big rust mark in the bottom. The shower and basin taps have no indication of Hot or Cold. The hot water is infact scalding hot and could result in serious injury through burning. The toilet seat was broken in two places. The TV was hanging off the wall. Banging upstairs started at 08h30 in the morning, preventing the weary traveller from sleeping in until check-out time of 10h00. The toilet doesnt stop running when flushed. The mattress was so old, I am sure it would be classified as antique.

Room Tip: We do not recommend The Graham Hotel nor Evelyn Guest House. If you have to stay in Grahamstown, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Pleasant location and a comfortable bed but the good stuff ends there. Dodgy TV, broken tap, windows that don't close. And the shower topped it all - plenty of fungus but no soap dish. Horribly average food.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grantsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
16.4 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#2 of 42 in Grahamstown
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#11 of 42 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#19 of 42 in Grahamstown
17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jenny's Guest House
Jenny's Guest House
#1 of 42 in Grahamstown
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graham Hotel

Property: Graham Hotel
Address: 123 High Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Graham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Graham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing