We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to our Alma Mater”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonel Graham Guest House
Ranked #10 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have stayed in various accommodations in Grahamstown which have all been good. The Colonel Graham Guesthouse is no exception. Sharike met us and was most helpful. Our room (Antoinette) has everything one needs for a comfortable stay. It is big and well appointed. The kitchenette was also well equipped. Our breakfast the next morning was excellent and our hostess was most friendly.
Well worth a second visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlickSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Sharika and her team at the Col. Graham made my ten day stay everything I could have hoped for during Scifest. My self-catering unit was just what I needed to relax when I wasn't performing. Tip-top service, great breakfasts and no weirdness. Ten points.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sockpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Lovely beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean guest house. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was served in a very nice dining room by a friendly lady. We were sorry we only could stay for one night as we had to carry on with our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed just one night during our travels in SA, had we known how pretty Grahamstown was we would have stayed longer and at this Guest House. We were greeted by a lovely young lady named Sharika, who opened the security gates and who was the owner. We were shown to lovely spacious rooms which also had a small separate kitchen and an en suite bathroom, everywhere was spotless even the gardens were beautifully kept. We were shown where breakfast would be served, which was alovely light airy room. Sharika had kindly booked us dinner in town and organised a Taxi for us, for which we thank her for the good choice of Restaurant. Needless to say, breakfast was really good and beautifully served. We would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone staying in this charming University City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streetwise60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The guest house is near the center of town and was easy to find. We stayed in the “Khoisan Cottage” and it had everything we needed even a small kitchen and living room. The bedroom had lots of space and was very comfortable. There was also secure parking next to the cottage for our car. We enjoyed our 3 nights (and 3 great breakfasts) and can definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This guest house / Bed and breakfast also offers a self-catering option. Security is good, accommodation is generous and the breakfasts filling. Bring a swimming costume as the pool beckons invitingly on those sweltering February days. Enjoy the song of the birds in the trees.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at Colonel graham for 2 nights in December 2011 and it was fantastic. It was a 3 minute drive from the university, and in close proximity to a shopping mall, which included various takeout restaurants and grocery store.

The room was very comfortable and spacious. It also included a small cooking facility and a flatscreen tv. Sumpticious breakfast was included in the b&b rates. The road in which it was situated, was very quiet and peaceful.


Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms such as Patrice and Reine are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leel0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jenny's Guest House
Jenny's Guest House
#1 of 43 in Grahamstown
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#13 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
0.6 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 33 in Grahamstown
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#3 of 43 in Grahamstown
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel Graham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Graham Guest House

Address: 2A Lansdowne Road, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonel Graham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonel Graham Guest House in the Eastern Cape city of Grahamstown offers the ideal blend of historical charm & modern day comforts in the tranquil environs of Lansdowne Road. The two accommodation guest houses are ideally situated close to the city centre as well as Grahamstown's private schools and Rhodes University.Colonel Graham Guest House offers 11 rooms situated in tranquil private gardens with a swimming pool and two undercover braai/barbeque areas. The guest house is owner-managed by Sharika van Dyk whose priority it is to provide friendly services to ensure that all your needs are met. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing