We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Street Manor
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
16
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel (guest house) bedroom with a printer for me to connect my laptop to. The room was huge and beautifully furnished. The decor throughout is striking but not over the top.
This guest house oozes quality everywhere.
Everything was top class and a wonderful delicious breakfast.
Madeleine cares about her guest house, her staff and her guests and the result is an award winning establishment that could compete anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we really enjoyed having you.We hope that if you are in the Grahamstown area you will come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a shock to stay in a B&B that was not aired, had dirty carpets, sour milk in the fridge and no one waiting to meet and greet guests. This is a B&B which does not meet the standards of a 4 star establishment. I would not recommend this guest house as a stop over in Grahamstown. A real disappointment.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, there are a few issues that we would like to address. With regards to the B&B being not aired, the front doors to the B&B were open meaning that there would be air coming in, in this regard you must be responding to your room not being aired. Due to the constant weather changes in Grahamstown and it being the weekend, the windows are kept shut.

With regards to the dirty carpets, it was a dirty mark on a carpet. There was only one stain on that carpet which does not warrant replacing the whole carpet. All our carpets and beds are steamed cleaned and this mark was due to be cleaned the following week as it was a Sunday no one is available to clean the carpet.

The sour milk is unacceptable and we do regret that this happened to you, We have taken this up with our suppliers and have in fact changed suppliers of the milk.

As we are not a hotel, we do not have 24 hour reception. The procedure is that the guests are contacted to ask what time they would be arriving and then someone would be waiting for them an hour prior to arrival. The person on duty was unable to get hold of you, she arrived right behind you which meant that there was someone to meet you.

We take great pride in cleanilness as this is a key factor in our service that we provide.

We are disappointed that you felt this way as most of our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable experience.

We hope that if you are travelling through Grahamstown you will come and stay with us and that you will have a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I often stay at Hill Strret Manor when I am visiting my daughter at University. It is a consistnetly excellent expierenec. Clean, well organsied, great facilities, exclleent service. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColleenaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We loved having you and thank you for your continuous support. We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Everything about our stay was great. Very clean, good breakfast, location is central to all schools and would recommend Hill Street Manor to family and friends.
Special thanks to Gail who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anastacia M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My stay was very brief. It was convenient and private, but with a 'homely' feel. The rooms are are clean and well maintained, with aircon. The staff are friendly and professional. The self-service honesty bar was a novel touch.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillstreet M, Public Relations Manager at Hill Street Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to have you back when you are in the Grahamstown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews