We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”
Review of Ufumene Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ufumene Game Lodge
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Ive been to Ufumene for the 4th time now. Everytime i have made new experiences, saw new animals, had wonderful talks to the owners, had nice dinner at the sunset with a view over the area. we did gamedrives, horsebackriding, hunting, walks! thank you so much, and i am looking forward to come again :-)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equal! Big, clean with a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a fantastic weekend - as a regular traveller, I am not often surprised, but myself and my family loved what we found. Peaceful, serene and "at your own pace". Stunning views from the wrap around "farm stoep" - personalised game drives and home cooked cuisine - culminating in a good nights rest in luxurious and well appinted accommodation. Also the perfect destination for travellers with children - all in all an "I'll be back" venue.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

U'fumene Game Ranch is without a doubt, one of the 'hidden jewels' of the Eastern Cape. Run by two very special people Eric and Ingrid Fredericks, and latterly their daughter Nadja, the lodge offers an outstanding stay in a luxurious, hospitable and spectacular setting! From the beautifully appointed guest suites overlooking the swimming pool and African veld beyond, the superb cuisine produced by Ingrid and her staff, the entertaining evenings in the wine-cellar hosted by our articulate and engaging host Eric, the plethora of African wild-life species encountered on our game drive, to the balmy evenings spent on the large verandah captivated by the stillness and night-sounds of the African bush-veld......I have no hesitation in saying I will be back to U'fumene sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

"Ufumene" is an old Xhosa word meaning "Found!" & anyone who has ever been so lucky as to have spent time on the Ufumene Game Ranch knows how fitting the name is. If you are looking for a patch of earth where everything feels so alluring, authentic & wholehearted then look no further, it has been found!

My boyfriend & I started in Cape Town and continued our travels driving down the Garden Route which ended in the harbor city, Port Elizabeth. This is where we were picked-up by Ingrid, the incredibly lively & welcoming host of Ufumene Game Ranch. The drive “home” was filled with riveting tales and fascinating facts about farm-life,..a personal & positive start to a real adventure.

Our room was beautiful. Tastefully decorated, serene & spacious. The bathroom made me feel like a princess and our view from the terrace just confirmed the feeling. The food & service was top-notch! Organic meats, home-grown fruits & vegies all combined within a home-cooked meal & an excellent glass of Wine,..it was mouth-watering, each and every day!

The Fredericks, the hosts of Ufumene were born for this job. They managed to make us feel as if we were part of the family. The unbleached & natural atmosphere they create comes straight from the heart & they manage to tie all aspects needed for a perfect holiday into a charming package!

Our plan was to stay a week, we stayed almost two and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginipower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Steiermark, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Thank you for that lovely days i had in spring 2012 at U'fumene. Mostly i enjoyed the service and the guestromms with the most wonderful view over the farm with all the animals. We had very nice evenings with the owners every day, the food was great. The farm is perfect for family holidays, for couples, for friends, naturelovers and hunters ;-)

thank you, hope to be there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

What a weekend! We arrived as guests, and left feeling like friends!
Eric and Ingrid run a beautiful lodge, with loads of personal attention - Ingrid even fetched us from the main road as darkness was descending, and made sure we made it safely to the lodge. Our huge rooms were well appointed - crisp white linen on enormous comfortable beds, tasteful artwork on the walls, and an enormous bathroom, with every luxury our hearts desired. The lounge and dining room are beautiful and comfortable, with no fussing about our toddler playing and scattering her toys and blocks all over the floor (in fact she was entertained and kept occupied by Ingrid!).
Ingrid fed us exceptionally well from the best eggs I think I've ever eaten to delicious heart warming Boeuf Bourguignon, spicy curry and decadent cakes - so very indulgent.
Despite a wet weekend, and little opportunity to see the game, we left feeling refreshed after some good rest, stimulated after great conversation, and with full bellies!
Thank you both so much, you went out of the way to look after us and our daughter so well; we have no doubt we will be back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

what a wonderful place in the beautiful landcape of the eastern cape! the very elegant and inviting lodge is situated in the middle of amazing animal life and rich fauna. i loved observing giraffes, zebras, all kinds of antilopes and birds in the early morning, or during a game drive. and also having a jump into the pool! the fredericks are wonderful hosts, the rooms are extremely comfortable and the meals are delicious and healthy! we had a perfect time and it was hard to say goodbye - i want to come back as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
15.9 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
112 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 29 in Grahamstown
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#8 of 42 in Grahamstown
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#14 of 42 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufumene Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufumene Game Lodge

Property: Ufumene Game Lodge
Address: Grahamstown, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing