We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Guesthouse”
Review of Henri House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Henri House B&B
Ranked #17 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Guesthouse”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Henri House for two nights and it will definitely be my first choice of accommodation in Grahamstown from now onwards. Lovely spacious and comfortable rooms opening onto a beautiful garden. We loved our time there and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenTou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at Henri House twice now and you could not get more accommodating and friendly people. Andrew and Chiara were so helpful to us. I would certainly recommend Henri House to anyone. Many thanks to you all

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaETB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blouberg, Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at Henri House this Easter Weekend, to attend my friend's wedding. Clean, comfortable and friendly hospitality. The accommodation is really comfortable and I love the fact that it is more like a spacious self-catering flat than just a "Bed and Breakfast" bedroom. I will definitely return if I ever have the opportunity to visit Grahamstown in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloubergholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Have stayed at HH on about 6 occasions when visiting SA from Wales. The b&b has four large rooms in a very old Georgian house. It is very much a family affair with friendly owners and staff. It is situated a few minutes walk from the centre of Grahamstown and although breakfast is included we have opted to walk into town and eat at Harricots and amazing little restaurant with some interesting items on the breakfast menu.

Other guests have tended to be parents visiting their sons or daughters either at the private schools or university in Grahamstown so a very quiet place.

Prices are very reasonable too. I tried the plunge pool on my last visit which was much needed as it was very warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Owner Andrew Maffessanti is truly the most honourable and exellent of hosts. While I was travelling from quite a distance to stay over at his B&B in Grahamstown, he did not find it bothersome to organise some dinner for me from a local Restaurant to be delivered after my arrival in order for me to take a bath, rest and have a wonderful meal in my appartment.

He realy went to lengths to make my stay very pleasant indeed!

Room Tip: The rooms are far more like appartments than just a Bed and Bathrooom. Very comfortable indeed! Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoinette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, england
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Situated on a quiet road on the outskirts of this small university town, Henri House is spotless, tidy and spacious.
As a group of three, we had a huge lounge with dining table, and a double bed. It led through to the second bedroom/kitchen (yes, I know that’s an odd combination) and off that was the bathroom. So you need to be comfortable with passing through one another’s rooms.
The kitchen was set up with breakfast for taking any time in the larger room: cereals, yoghurt, milk, breads, spreads, tea and coffee. A bowl of fresh fruit was on the dining table.
Two things to be aware of: from the kitchen area there were three steps up to the bed, another three to the bathroom on the other side. So be ready to navigate them in the dark if necessary. And the fridge was rather noisy even though new, so could disturb light sleepers.
That said, we slept soundly and had a leisurely breakfast just when it suited us with no pressure to fit in with the arrangements for the landlord or those in other rooms, which may offer more conventional layouts.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank famwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.2 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
0.5 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#18 of 42 in Grahamstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.7 mi away
11 Worcester on Durban
11 Worcester on Durban
#11 of 42 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
3.2 mi away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#5 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henri House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henri House B&B

Property: Henri House B&B
Address: 16 Henry Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henri House is situated in a quiet residential area in the heart of the educational hub of Grahamstown.Close to Rhodes University, the private schools, shops and amenities. All within walking distance, five minutes from African Street. The Cathedral is situated on Hill Street, one kilometre away.The original house was built in 1856 for the Rector of Christ Church, which is situated just around the corner.Henri House offers two spacious family flats which can accommodate up to 4 adults each and two double rooms.All rooms are equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, selection of teas and coffee. A healthy continental breakfast of fruits, yoghurt, juices, wholemeal toast, cheese and preserves is served in the privacy of ones own room.Facilities include a television with D.S.T.V., heaters, fans and hair dryers. A safe is provided in each room to lock away any valuables.A plunge pool is available for residents use to cool off in those hot summer days. Braai facilities are available.Secure off-road parking is provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing