We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent guest house”
Review of The Cock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cock House
Ranked #30 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have been staying at the Cock House for 12 years (for about one week a month). As a regular I am accommodated in the same room (a small flat in fact). The management and staff are always friendly and helpful and accommodate all my needs (including custom-made meals). The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the dining is excellent. Parking is off-road, and the house is of historical value. I will continue staying at the Cock House until I misbehave and they kick me out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, Manager at The Cock House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your kind words - it is lovely to have a record of one of our most special guests on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to host you during your trips to Grahamstown, and you are now part of The Cock House family - you will always be welcome! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was the third time we stayed at the Cock House for the National Arts Festival and had a wonderful time. Really nice staff, helpful and even really late dinners after shows were no problem. Great rooms, warm, clean and comfortable. Easy access to the centre of Grahamstown and we are going to book now again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, Manager at The Cock House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Good Afternoon Lore,

Thank you so much for your lovely, kind words. As our special regular guests it was great to see your review on Trip Advisor.

It is only a pleasure to host yourself and Mr Watterson, and we look forward to The Arts Festival in 2013 so that we can welcome you back once again.

With Warm Hospitality and Kind Regards

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at "The cockhouse" on our road trip back from the Cape to Durban! On arrival we were a bit dubious,maybe because our arrival was in the dark,but once we entered the premises, we were pleasantly surprised, it is a beautiful old home, with quite an assortment of history! The culinary smells that emanated as we entered made it feel so homely and inviting, we couldn't wait to eat! Our dinner of Coq Au Vin and Lamb Shank respectively was amazing! Dessert consisted of Creme Brûlée and the most delicious cointreau crepes! Our room was extremely comfortable, and breakfast was perfect!
We are certainly booking for next years Grahamstown Festival and staying at " The cockhouse"! Jessica was our hostess and she helped to make our stay very pleasant! Andre and Judy

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Judsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Andre and Judy

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely message on our website. It was wonderful having you to stay and are glad that you felt that The Cock House was a warm and inviting 'home away from home!'

We look forward to inviting you back again next year for the Grahamstown Arts Festival, however, you are welcome anytime!

With Warm Regards

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were coming to visit our son in Rhodes Varsity from Cape Town. Did a load of business appointments on the way and was exhausted. Needless to say we were very angry to find this establisment virtually in the 'TOWNSHIP" side of Grahamstown. Very dirty roads and noisy area. The place is located accross from a TAXI RANK! Not only this but having to walk to our rooms past unkemp dirty office block in the middel of the establisment. I was not happy. We asked for a refund but was refussed and arrived early evening so decided to just get the night over and done with. Well, the "passing trade" contunued all night together with taxi's zooming past non stop. It is possitivly the worst place I have ever stayed at in my life.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

AWFUL

I travelled for 3 weeks round South Africa and the Cock House was by far the worst place I stayed. On arrival we were welcomed, I use that word loosely, by the most disinterested staff I've ever met. Grumpily shown where to park and then shown our room with no help with bags. Utterly uninterested in helping in any way and basically within minutes of arrival the staff had totally put us off staying here. We were so unhappy about the staff we located the manager and complained to him. In all fairness he was very pleasant, unlike his staff, and apologised but only asked us to put our complaint in writing nothing else was done to make our stay more rewarding.
The owner and staff should go to Blackhealth Lodge in Cape Town to see how real hospitality is done.

We paid £100 a night for a twin room. Not good value. The room was tired, skirting boards had rot in them, chairs were stained, bath had mould round it. The worst thing however was there wasn't any air conditioning just an utter useless fan that made no difference at all resulting in us feeling as though we were sleeping in an oven.

So to summarise , if you wish a to stay in a place that is overpriced, uncomfortable and unfriendly you've found your place in the Cock House.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Overnighted here but delighted by massive family rooms with lounge, dining, kitchen, 2 bedrooms. Our bedroom alone had space for a couch and was bigger than most hotel rooms. The old building had been renovated into the apartments with thought and class. Ideal base if you are in Grahamstown or passing through. Remember to bring your kitchen needs as limited supplies on site. Breakfast in the restaurant was generous, varied and the cooked was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We found this gem of a small hotel, en route along the N2. It's in a lovely old Grahamstown street, with a friendly bar, big comfortable bedrooms around a lovely garden. There are a few rough edges, peeling paint etc, but it really is a charming place for a stop over and has a very good resturant too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
8.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
16.6 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
3.3 mi away
A Stones Throw
A Stones Throw
#5 of 43 in Grahamstown
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
St. Aidans Guest Cottage
#9 of 43 in Grahamstown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock House

Address: 10 Market St, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cock House 4*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing