We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cock House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria Mews(Grahamstown)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Intsomi Lodge(Alexandria)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
14
8
9
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
8
9
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A group of colleagues and I stayed at the Cock House during a work visit to Grahamstown, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, the breakfast is simple but delicious, and dinner at the restaurant was also good. The staff at the hotel really tried to accommodate our every wish - and we had a few! The service is super friendly, there's free WIFI and secure parking, and the garden is a nice place to sit for a chat and a cup of tea. The historic building has a wonderful atmosphere that lets you experience the 'frontier town' flavour of Grahamstown first hand. So all in all it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel was recommended in Lonely Planet and we needed to break our journey up North so we booked a night at the Cock house. The hotel is located right across a minibus terminal (rather noisy, and disconcerting). While the history and architecture of the building are interesting, the hotel has seen better days. Unfortunately we were the only guests, also at the restaurant, which did not help put our minds at rest, in spite of the security guard walking around the premises several times. The garden inside is nice, and the rooms are clean, in spite of the furniture being derelict. The food and service were also good, so no complaints there.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, General Manager at The Cock House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate our guests’ honest feedback; it allows us to look at any downfalls and, where possible, correct them. The building, in which The Cock House is situated, dates back to 1826 and is located on Market Square where, historically, there has always been a lot of hustle and bustle. Unfortunately, in the modern age, that includes a minibus terminal on the opposite corner of Market Street. We have two guest rooms in the main house overlooking Market Street and, should any guests be disturbed by the street noise and providing we have availability, we will most certainly offer alternative accommodation overlooking the garden. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent a night at the Cock House in Grahamstown in June this year. We were attracted to the history of the property and intrigued by all the famous people and colourful personalities who have stayed here in the past. The room was comfortable and cosy considering how cold Grahamstown can get in winter - by South African standards anyway! We found the decor in our suite a bit 'country' for our personal taste but it did suit the style of this stately old home. The drawing room with its log fire was our favourite part of the house. The service was excellent throughout, and the warmth of the staff felt really genuine. The barman / assistant manager was a particular delight . We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner we had along with the fact that they served excellent artisan beers made by a South African brewer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have been staying at the Cock House for 12 years (for about one week a month). As a regular I am accommodated in the same room (a small flat in fact). The management and staff are always friendly and helpful and accommodate all my needs (including custom-made meals). The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and the dining is excellent. Parking is off-road, and the house is of historical value. I will continue staying at the Cock House until I misbehave and they kick me out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, Manager at The Cock House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your kind words - it is lovely to have a record of one of our most special guests on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to host you during your trips to Grahamstown, and you are now part of The Cock House family - you will always be welcome! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was the third time we stayed at the Cock House for the National Arts Festival and had a wonderful time. Really nice staff, helpful and even really late dinners after shows were no problem. Great rooms, warm, clean and comfortable. Easy access to the centre of Grahamstown and we are going to book now again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lore W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica S, Manager at The Cock House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Good Afternoon Lore,

Thank you so much for your lovely, kind words. As our special regular guests it was great to see your review on Trip Advisor.

It is only a pleasure to host yourself and Mr Watterson, and we look forward to The Arts Festival in 2013 so that we can welcome you back once again.

With Warm Hospitality and Kind Regards

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews