We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of The Cock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cock House
Ranked #31 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We found this gem of a small hotel, en route along the N2. It's in a lovely old Grahamstown street, with a friendly bar, big comfortable bedrooms around a lovely garden. There are a few rough edges, peeling paint etc, but it really is a charming place for a stop over and has a very good resturant too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for The Cock House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed for one night at the Cock House on our way to St Francis Bay. We had read the story of the extensive renovation of the hotel and its charm but were a bit disappointed by it. The building is rather tired and the furniture has seen some better days.
Our room however was airy and light with comfortable beds (equipped with electrical blanket).
The food, which was advertised as the best in town, was rather plain to us and we were not convinced by the breakfast buffet in the morning.
Service however is friendly and helpfull.
Grahamstown itself did not give us the feel we had expected.
A good place perhaps to stay for a night 'on the way to' ... but not longer

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2005

Easily the best place to eat in Grahamstown. I haven't stayed there, but the hosts are friendly, and the food is excellent. Local game, decent wines and an intimate little bar make it a good choice.

The location might not be ideal if you're doing business at Rhodes, which is almost the only game in town in Grahamstown, but for dinner it's perfect

Stayed: May 2004
2  Thank fnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bahar_Dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
114 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 33 in Grahamstown
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#3 of 43 in Grahamstown
56 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cock House

Address: 10 Market St, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cock House 4*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing