We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Stones Throw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stones Throw
Ranked #4 of 42 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth
1 review
“What a lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I did a motorcycle trip and booked at Stone's Throw on our way back. What a nice surprize, the A frame wooden chalet was clean, neat and we immediately settled in on the wooden deck overlooking the valley. The chalet had everything we needed, fridge, coffee, sugar, milk and a nice hot shower with excellent water pressure. ( Was needed after our off road trip doing gravel routes the previous 3 days).
The big King size bed gave us a goods nights sleep and we did not want to get of it the next morning.
Thanks to our hosts, we can really recommend Stones Throw to anyone who needs friendly service and a good clean, homely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always great to have guests who appreciate the gorgeous view we are so lucky to have at A Stone's Throw, hope to see you again on another bike journey. With warm Eastern Cape Regards Suzanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
11
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed at numerous establishments in Grahamstown during the past four years, but NONE of them come close to the cleanliness, attention to detail, and tranquallity of A Stone's Throw. Suzanne obviously conducts quality controls on the maintenance and housekeeping of her rooms and bungalows; and it shows. Unreservedly recommended accommodation.

Bryan Howard.

Room Tip: First choice: Bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The rondavels were comfortable and the beds and linen lovely. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious and well worth the money. I particularly liked the filter coffee and plunger in the room. It was great being so close to Grahamstown but not right in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 563debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Although I know our stay was during the busiest time of the year for this town (Grahamstown Festival), it was obvious that this property takes that opportunity to gauge people. Although our rondavel was lovely and well appointed, I felt we were overcharged for what we ended up getting. In addition, there was no "breakfast" with the bed. Not even offered for an additional charge. We were not notified of this during our booking. Yes, they do offer a shared kitchen, but it's pretty sparsely appointed and FREEZING in the morning anyway. Finally, they are about 6km from the center of town so you need to drive for just about anything (no restaurant/stores within walking distance).

The owner of the property is very nice and helpful during the booking process, and in person. I just think our stay was sullied by a simple matter of failed/misleading expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I would book again at Stone's Throw. Suzanne's welcome was warm and sincere, she clearly prides herself on an immaculate room and security was excellent with the whole premises being secured by an electronic gate and good parking for your vehicle. The drive timer to down town was quicker than I had imagined.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you again for your encouraging feed-back after your very brief stay with us and we hope that the next visit to us at A Stone's Throw proves to be a lot less of a blustery day as the day you visited. With best regards from Suzanne and the Team at A Stone's Throw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Set 'a stones throw' from Grahamstown, the log cabin accommodation is ideal for summer or winter, mind you in this area they escape the extremes making it an ideal all year round destination. The cabins are fully equipped with all amenities including exquisite views towards Grahamstown. Spend a weekend or longer and use it as a base for the historic and vibrant local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you again to the Expedition Project team for the visit and for all the great work you are doing in discovering and exploring "our Africa: and I know the project is going from strength to strength and we at A Stone's Throw are thrilled to be part of that even if in such a small way. Until next time and thank you again for the lovely comments always goes to making for good moral as we go along our way. Best regards Suzanne and the team at A Stone's Throw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Our stay was great. from inquiry to booking in excellent. room was excellent. put on heaters and this warmed up the whole cabin. excellent and easy directions to the B&B. convenient from town. great location. Pity about the weather, would loved to have sat on the veranda and seen the night views of Grahams town

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Morgan and Dene, thank you for your positive feed-back - Wishing you happy travels wherever you may go.
regards
Suzanne and the team at A Stone's Throw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
18.1 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
8A Grahamstown
8A Grahamstown
#2 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.3 mi away
A White House Guest House
A White House Guest House
#3 of 42 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 26 in Grahamstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stones Throw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stones Throw

Property: A Stones Throw
Address: 9 Stones Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stones Throw 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stone's Throw Accommodation is nestled on the hilltops above Grahamstown. Offering country living "A Stone's Throw" from the University town of Grahamstown, where you can enjoy panoramic vistas and witness gorgeous sunsets from a spacious garden setting which is surrounded by open countryside. A Stone's Throw is situated as an ideal stopover between the Garden Route and KwaZulu Natal, just 2km's off the N2, outside Grahamstown, home to the National Arts Festival and City of Saints and Scholars, a seven minute drive into the city centre of Makana Grahamstown. The beaches of Kenton-on-Sea, Kasouga, and Port Alfred are nearby and the Great Fish River Reserves, Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth are just over one hour away. A Stone's Throw's welcoming ambience ensures you a memorable stay. Wake up to Spectacular views. Enjoy sunsets and watching a variety of indigenous bird life, star-gazing, soaking up the sunshine with a book or taking an energetic hike up to the Toposcope, (This building, erected by the Grahamstown Trust in 1997/98, shows the direction of many towns and sites of this Eastern Cape region). Due to renovations we also have available accommodation option at 30 on Oatlands Road which is centrally situated in the Oak-tree lined suburb of Oatlands. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your A Stones Throw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing