We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of A Stones Throw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Stones Throw
Ranked #4 of 43 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We were on the road from Durban to Cape Town and decided to sleep over in Grahamstown. Due to good co-operation and communication between the B&Bs, we got a cabin at A Stone's Throw, and boy, we were the lucky ones. The cabin has a single room and a mezzanine room, which our 2 boys (15 & 9) slept in. We were met by Edith who was the stand in manager while Suzanne was away. Edith is a treat, after a very long drive, the reception was fantastic. Things just seem to go along smoothly, no fuss, no mess. Everything is under control and well organised.

Breakfast was great, by the pool, more than enough for us(2 boys eat healthily) and then it was back on the road. Would LOVE to have stayed longer, it is such a peaceful place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVOMerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2008

We really enjoyed staying at A Stone's Throw Bed and Breakfast in Grahamstown, South Africa.
We were made to feel at home and enjoyed the relaxed country hospitality.
The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated.
As we were travelling as a family we could not have chosen a better place to stay.
Thanks to the hosts,their family and staff we had a most enjoyable stay.
Grant, Kim Josh and Blake Forword
Perth Western Australia

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank MaddiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Choose A Stone's Throw because it had a family unit the 4 of us
could be together. Visiting our daughter studying at Rhodes
University in Grahamstown. Just a great location just 5 minutes
from town,great hostest in Suzanne. She has the coolest dog
the the kids loved. She served us a great breakfast by the pool
where we met another guest that stays there all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Really nice rooms or a cabin that sleeps 6 on a family property on the hills just outside the city proper.
Family and children helpful, pleasant and friendly. Staff ditto.
The views from the cabin are breathtaking and should not be missed.
Breakfasts good and plentiful, laundry service prompt. Clean and comfortable.
Car necessary.
Pool, trampoline and large grounds make it an excellent family base for area vacation or travel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cybercrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binouche14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccsw, Owner at A Stones Throw, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grahamstown hotels
2.8 mi away
Browns at 137 High Street Grahamstown
3.7 mi away
Jenny's Guest House
Jenny's Guest House
#3 of 43 in Grahamstown
67 reviews
3.3 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,407 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
373 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mountain View Manor
Mountain View Manor
#16 of 43 in Grahamstown
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stones Throw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stones Throw

Address: 9 Stones Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range: £43 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stones Throw 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stone's Throw Accommodation is nestled on the hilltops above Grahamstown. Offering country living "A Stone's Throw" from the University town of Grahamstown, where you can enjoy panoramic vistas and witness gorgeous sunsets from a spacious garden setting which is surrounded by open countryside. A Stone's Throw is situated as an ideal stopover between the Garden Route and KwaZulu Natal, just 2km's off the N2, outside Grahamstown, home to the National Arts Festival and City of Saints and Scholars, a seven minute drive into the city centre of Makana Grahamstown. The beaches of Kenton-on-Sea, Kasouga, and Port Alfred are nearby and the Great Fish River Reserves, Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth are just over one hour away. A Stone's Throw's welcoming ambience ensures you a memorable stay. Wake up to Spectacular views. Enjoy sunsets and watching a variety of indigenous bird life, star-gazing, soaking up the sunshine with a book or taking an energetic hike up to the Toposcope, (This building, erected by the Grahamstown Trust in 1997/98, shows the direction of many towns and sites of this Eastern Cape region). Due to renovations we also have available accommodation option at 30 on Oatlands Road which is centrally situated in the Oak-tree lined suburb of Oatlands. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Stones Throw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing