We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Spending 4 nights at Kichaka was the best way of unwinding after a long year. The spacious room and time between activities allowed for much needed rest. The staff were very enthusiastic and the game drives proved to be much, even though one bull elephant did enjoy scaring the daylights out of us. Great stay and chef is really good with red meat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Kichaka did a wonderful job. We were there for 3 nights, and each was better then the last. We had many amazing drives. Our guide was amazing, he was extremely knowledgeable. I felt safe at all times on the game drives and in the camp. I would recommend this lodge for everyone. The service was top notch as well, along with great cuisine. I was very please with my visit. There is nothing I would change about my visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you want a Safari Lodge which is easy to get too, full of friendly staff, luxury throughout, and has highly enjoyable game drives, then Kichaka is the place for you. It represents amazing value for money, and I guarantee your time here will go far too quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the last stop on our two week visit to South Africa and it was all we hoped for. Amazing accommodation, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff and the most enthusiastic, passionate rangers you will find. From arrival you were made to feel welcome and quickly transported to you lodge. For us it was Honeysuckle. Secluded with a great view of the watering hole. We were greeted by a Heard of elephant having a swim in the afternoon sun. Game drives were fantastic with the very knowledgeable Ashleigh.

I could go on but I am sure you know we loved it. We will go back and if you are thinking of a safari this Location will be hard to beat

Room Tip: Honeysuckle lodge has a clear view of the watering hole from your private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What can I say.... Kichaka is an absolutely amazing place to stay !!!!!
We went with my sister and her husband and we never stopped talking about the experience until we parted company on our return to the UK. We loved it !!!!
From the luxury of the lodges, the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff, the fantastic food and excellent service, these all added to a truly memorable 3 night stay.
Our thanks to Ashley our game driver who introduced us to the delights of the South African bush with sightings of lion,cheetah,hippos, elephants, rhino, giraffe, springbok, warthog.. the list goes on !!!
His knowledge and enthusiasm was a joy to behold closely followed by the beautiful sunset experienced whilst sipping a drink from the front of the jeep.
In conclusion 5 star everything, this place cannot be faulted !!!!
Lynne & David James
Northallerton,UK

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights here and what an amazing, fabulous experience.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the friendly, efficient staff (my wife asked about some African music she had heard and liked, the next day it was presented as a downloaded disc and gift wrapped !). Game drives were
awesome and exciting with our knowledgeable, professional ranger (Jake). What we liked after the pm drive was roaring log fires if cold, welcome drink and hot face towel, and of course a smile. If it was warm dinner was laid up under the stars.
All in all...unforgettable and highly recommended.
John & Margo May
Truro,Cornwall

Room Tip: A lodge overlooking the hippo pool would be a bonus but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNM1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a wonderful safari here the lodge was set in its wilderness type surround with small type lodges for guests.
The guest lodges were separate from the main lodge with a connecting walk way which made you feel that you were really in the wilds. The service by the staff was first class with food to match in a delightful dinning room very African in its style there is little to fault this place a small issue would be lighting on the walk ways there are some areas which were a little dark.
The safaris them selves were fantastic the guides were friendly and extremely knowledgeable and went out of there way to please, with every thing that is as great as this there is a price to pay to see the animals that is you have to get up at 5am to do the first of the two safaris each day, whilst the young folk are able to sustain this some of the older generation had had enough after 3days of 5am rises but even still it was worth the effort. We did all 6 safaris and saw most of the animals we wanted to see if you are planing this type of holiday it's well worth doing.

Room Tip: Nearer the main lodge as the walk to some of the outer lodges was a little difficult as the darkish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
24.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
53 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
518 reviews
10.2 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: £612 - £736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing