We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at this wonderful Game Reserve for two nights 29th/31st Jan. and oh what an experience
from the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feels so welcome, the suites are fabulous, large and furnished beautifully, with our own plunge pool and outside shower all totally secluded.
The main lodge is large and welcoming with a good stocked bar, food was outstanding and service always excellent, all the staff were so friendly and made us feel really valued.

The rangers are so knowledgeable even down to the insects, our ranger Ashley was lovely and taught us so much about the animals we were seeing and the game drives are never hurried even being out till dark one night. We saw all the big five and we had the time of our lives. wish we had stayed longer.

This is truly a 5* game reserve so if you are looking for a Game Reserve with a special touch of Luxury then this is then one to book.

Room Tip: All Suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
225
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our safari experience began with a warm welcome from Andrew and the warthogs, which set the tone for what followed: a wealth of game; attentive service from all members of staff; a knowledgable guide; superb accommodation; delicious food; fabulous location; enthusiasm and fun from all involved with Kichaka. Just an amazing experience, and one that can be fully recommended. If you're looking for a 5 star safari experience, then Kichaka is the one-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutties2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
165 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Spending 4 nights at Kichaka was the best way of unwinding after a long year. The spacious room and time between activities allowed for much needed rest. The staff were very enthusiastic and the game drives proved to be much, even though one bull elephant did enjoy scaring the daylights out of us. Great stay and chef is really good with red meat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Kichaka did a wonderful job. We were there for 3 nights, and each was better then the last. We had many amazing drives. Our guide was amazing, he was extremely knowledgeable. I felt safe at all times on the game drives and in the camp. I would recommend this lodge for everyone. The service was top notch as well, along with great cuisine. I was very please with my visit. There is nothing I would change about my visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you want a Safari Lodge which is easy to get too, full of friendly staff, luxury throughout, and has highly enjoyable game drives, then Kichaka is the place for you. It represents amazing value for money, and I guarantee your time here will go far too quickly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was the last stop on our two week visit to South Africa and it was all we hoped for. Amazing accommodation, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff and the most enthusiastic, passionate rangers you will find. From arrival you were made to feel welcome and quickly transported to you lodge. For us it was Honeysuckle. Secluded with a great view of the watering hole. We were greeted by a Heard of elephant having a swim in the afternoon sun. Game drives were fantastic with the very knowledgeable Ashleigh.

I could go on but I am sure you know we loved it. We will go back and if you are thinking of a safari this Location will be hard to beat

Room Tip: Honeysuckle lodge has a clear view of the watering hole from your private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

What can I say.... Kichaka is an absolutely amazing place to stay !!!!!
We went with my sister and her husband and we never stopped talking about the experience until we parted company on our return to the UK. We loved it !!!!
From the luxury of the lodges, the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff, the fantastic food and excellent service, these all added to a truly memorable 3 night stay.
Our thanks to Ashley our game driver who introduced us to the delights of the South African bush with sightings of lion,cheetah,hippos, elephants, rhino, giraffe, springbok, warthog.. the list goes on !!!
His knowledge and enthusiasm was a joy to behold closely followed by the beautiful sunset experienced whilst sipping a drink from the front of the jeep.
In conclusion 5 star everything, this place cannot be faulted !!!!
Lynne & David James
Northallerton,UK

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
21.9 mi away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
16.5 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Property: Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing