We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this luxury game lodge and were extremely impressed with all the staff Our ranger Ben was very knowledgeable on all the fauna and flora that we encountered and made the 2 daily game drives memorable for us.All the indoor staff are very well trained and extremely professional,and also kind and helpful.Everything about the place is geared to guests enjoyment. As an example after a very wet drive we asked if we could possibly have an early dinner and were immediately told that it would not be a problem
The individual lodges are very private and spread across the side of the hill but ours did not have any view .The lodges are connected to the main building by slatted wooden walkways which were quite a challenge for us elderly couple. The interiors are very well designed and furnished and all include a private outdoor plunge pool that unusually is slightly heated and pumped and filtered alongside an outdoor shower.The food and drinks are excellent and include a good wine and a complimentary mini bar plus unlimited bottled water..
The main point of the visit is to see the animals. We were very thrilled to see the 3 lion cubs and the mother returning to find them while we were watching and on another drive we saw the female cheetah with her 4 cubs. However although we also saw elephants and giraffes, we did not see any of the reserve's 3 remaining rhino or the 3 buffalo. We understand that the reserve does not have a leopard (also one of the official big 5)
We noted that the reserve vehicles did not have an overhead canopy and the provided ponchos were not very waterproofed so we got thoroughly soaked on one drive.

Room Tip: I believe one or more of the rooms has a view over the water. Some are quite a distance from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

What can we add that hasn't been said! Justin, our ranger was totally dedicated to giving us a great experience. Spa not quite up to standard of the rest of the establishment, but still a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_L740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed three nights at the lodge, it Was great fun from the time we arrived to the time we left,we did six game drives, in all weathers , and each one was amazing.our guide Ashley was so Knowledgeable and so interesting
The accommodation was spacious and wonderful, the staff make us feel so welcome , and couldn't do enough for us, the food was delicious ,
Kichaka was truly a luxury game lodge, and we would love to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at this wonderful Game Reserve for two nights 29th/31st Jan. and oh what an experience
from the time we arrived to the time we left we were made to feels so welcome, the suites are fabulous, large and furnished beautifully, with our own plunge pool and outside shower all totally secluded.
The main lodge is large and welcoming with a good stocked bar, food was outstanding and service always excellent, all the staff were so friendly and made us feel really valued.

The rangers are so knowledgeable even down to the insects, our ranger Ashley was lovely and taught us so much about the animals we were seeing and the game drives are never hurried even being out till dark one night. We saw all the big five and we had the time of our lives. wish we had stayed longer.

This is truly a 5* game reserve so if you are looking for a Game Reserve with a special touch of Luxury then this is then one to book.

Room Tip: All Suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our safari experience began with a warm welcome from Andrew and the warthogs, which set the tone for what followed: a wealth of game; attentive service from all members of staff; a knowledgable guide; superb accommodation; delicious food; fabulous location; enthusiasm and fun from all involved with Kichaka. Just an amazing experience, and one that can be fully recommended. If you're looking for a 5 star safari experience, then Kichaka is the one-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutties2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Spending 4 nights at Kichaka was the best way of unwinding after a long year. The spacious room and time between activities allowed for much needed rest. The staff were very enthusiastic and the game drives proved to be much, even though one bull elephant did enjoy scaring the daylights out of us. Great stay and chef is really good with red meat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Kichaka did a wonderful job. We were there for 3 nights, and each was better then the last. We had many amazing drives. Our guide was amazing, he was extremely knowledgeable. I felt safe at all times on the game drives and in the camp. I would recommend this lodge for everyone. The service was top notch as well, along with great cuisine. I was very please with my visit. There is nothing I would change about my visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grahamstown
24.7 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
16.4 mi away
Graham Hotel
Graham Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grahamstown
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1,298 reviews
14.0 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,115 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge

Address: Assegaai Bush, Grahamstown 6148, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grahamstown
Price Range: £557 - £706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a private game reserve in the malaria-free Eastern Cape, Kichaka is the perfect place to enjoy a Big Five safari experience in quiet luxury. Feel instantly at home - the lounge and dining areas are positioned to offer uninterrupted views across unspoiled bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichaka Luxury Game Hotel Grahamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing