We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”
Review of la Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
la Vista Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon our arrival we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite which was great. The room was spacious (had its own lounge) and the views were amazing.

Breakfast was delicious with everything made fresh on the day. We had muffins, croissants, fruit salad, ham, cheeses as well as a tasty hot breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and eager to share tips about which restaurants to go to, places to visit, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    41
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
198
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here en route from Cape Town to PE and liked it so much we stayed for 3 nights rather than the planned 2. The Lodge has the most beautiful views of the Bay and even though it was July we had breakfast outside and wathed three groups of whales 100m off shore.

Cornelle and the team were more than helpful and the place felt very safe and secure.

We had friends staying at the Plettenberg Hotel, paying five times the amount that we did. We hade the right choice!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tayloriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The view is magnificent and the B & B is well situated to explore the Garden Route. Cornelle made some good suggestions regarding restuarants and places to visit.Thanks for a great stay and wonderfull service topped off by 6 star meals. Keep up the good work guys.

Brett & Pam Young

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After reading previous reviews we were concerned about security but was assured that the establishment is under new management with an on-site manager.
From time of arrival to the time we left we did feel very safe due to electric fencing, outside sensors and an inside alarm.
We were warmly welcomed and found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and delicious with a variety of options and very well presented, with excellent service from Cornelle the Chef and manager and Ben our waiter.
Our room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the bay as well as very clean.
We will definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanarina, Manager at la Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dearest Marlene A,

Thanks so much for the lovely review of your recent stay at La Vista Lodge.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you again in the very near future,

Kindest Regards

The La Vista Lodge Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This is beautiful location overlooking the bay. The villa is large and well equipped. After reading previous reviews about burglary we were a little worried. However, the security was very good with electric fencing, outside sensors and armed response on call. So felt very safe with 8 adults and 7 small children. We were there for Christmas and found the kitchen ok. The ovens took an age to heat up and it could do with more pots and sauce pans. The pool was clean and good size. The parasols need some attention as they were hard to put up. Small gripes overall a very good villa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The accommodation is fantastic, the agents take great care of the guests and the views are exquisite. I would strongly recommend this place, save for the fact that we were broken into twice whilst sleeping. Approximately $4,000 worth of goods were taken. The security system was not enough to deter the thieves. We eventually insisted that we have a 24 hour armed guard which was provided, but this still did not assist as in getting much sleep. We were told that the two incidents were the first but when it came to speaking to the security company, they said the house gets hit frequently. We are also convinced that the maids stole an Iphone and Ipod. When we tried to liaise with the owner on the issues, we were ignored. Rent in a secure estate if possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macan4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanarina, Manager at la Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dearest Macan4us,

We are so sorry to hear of your situations whilst staying at our beautiful property.

As responded to the review underneath yours, we have re-launched as an exclusive bed and breakfast from the 1st May 2014.
We now have a team of dedicated staff, and a manager that resides on the property, and have taken all security situations into account.
I am pleased to say that we have not had any incidents since your stay in December 2012.

We would love to have you come back and stay again in the future, and please do get in touch with us if we can assist you.

Wishing you a wonderful year ahead,
Kindest Regards
The NEW La Vista Lodge Management TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Vista in December 2012,
It is a great location with beautiful views, this was all spoiled our first night when two of our vehicles where broken into and items stolen while parked on the property. The house was also broken into and numerous items stolen, the Managment company and the police where efficient and helpful and we tried to enjoy our time but again two night before we where to leave la vista the house was broken into again and again numerous items where stolen. Again the agents where helpful and provided a security guard for our last two nights. To date we have had no communication from the owner to find out if everybody was safe or if he could assist in some way. I find this unacceptable! I emailed the agents and owner for comment before doing this review thereby giving them an opportunity to comment. I have had no response.
If you do decide to take the risk and stay at this venue then please insist on a security guard and make sure that you lock every window and door and activate the alarm although this did not help us.
We incurred major cost replacing the items stolen and paying insurance excesses and our summer holiday was very negatively effected.
Please take care
Regards
Greg

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanarina, Manager at la Vista Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dearest Greg N,
We are deeply sorry for the terrible situation(s) that had occurred during your stay at La Vista Lodge in December 2012.
We feel we need to write back to you to explain the changes that have taken place since you stayed with us.
From the 1st May 2014, La Vista Lodge has been launched as an exclusive bed and breakfast, and no longer offers self catering accommodation.
We have a team of staff dedicated to servicing La Vista, and a manager that resides on the property, creating an extra presence.
I am also pleased to tell you that we have not had any incidents since your stay, and we would love to have you come back and experience the new look and feel of La Vista Lodge.
We now offer delicious breakfasts which are included in our rates, and offer 3 course dinners, tapas platters, in-room massages and a fully stocked bar.
We hope that you will choose to come and stay with us again,
Wishing you a wonderful year ahead,
Kindest Regards
The NEW La Vista Bed and Breakfast Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Vista Lodge

Property: la Vista Lodge
Address: 17 Rosheen Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — la Vista Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA VISTA Lodge offers an unforgettable and unique holiday in South Africa! Our guests soon become return visitors and just fall in love with our little piece of paradise views. Our bed and breakfast lies right above the lagoon overlooking Plettenberg Bay, offering views of the Indian Ocean, the ever-changing Keurbooms Lagoon and the stunning Tsitsikamma Mountain Range in the distance. With three room levels we offer something for everyone's budget. All our suites come standard with air conditioning,hot beverage facilities, fully stocked mini bars, satellite television, large en suite bathrooms and views our surrounding area. We also offer dinners and tapas platters by prior arrangement, as well as in-room massages. Allow us to make your holiday fantasies come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your la Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing