We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing to say the least”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packwood Country Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the family unit for 7 days over Christmas. The first thing that strikes you when arriving is that the 4 star Country Estate that you booked is very far from the truth.
At the very best, this is a chalet on a farm with the bare minimum spent on it.
Things that irritated me were:
1) Fully serviced actually means weekdays excl public holidays. A problem over Christmas.
2) Sheets were only changed once when we requested a change.
3) All linen is thin, old and worn out.
4) Pool is at least 300m from the unit down a hill in front of the main house. By the time you've walked back up the hill you're hotter than when you decided to go for a swim in the first place.
5) You need a 4x4 to get to the back of the house.
6) The bathroom taps hardly reach the basin (very weird). Anyone under 2m tall has to stand in the bath or doorway to brush their teeth.
7) Although the chalet is built on a hill, when you sit on the patio chairs, your entire view hides behind a thick hedge.
8) If you book a meal, understand that that means someone coming to your kitchen to cook for you.
9) Before going to sleep every night, we had to put the slats back into the bed in the second bedroom.
10) Beds have rock hard foam mattresses which are hot in summer.

Unit does have full satellite TV, which is great except when the remote doesn't work properly.
This unit is a 2 star self catering unit at best and shouldn't cost more than R500 pd although we paid over R1300 pd.
Definately won't be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We live locally and were attracted by Packwood's cheese and wine lunch - we were not disappointed! Our host Cara was very friendly and hospitable. Lunch was a generous combination of homemade bread, farm cheeses and a magnificent salad. The estate's sauvignon blanc was a real gem and chilled to the perfect temperature on a warm winter day. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, wonderful views and Cara's tales of life on the estate. A delicious treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Waking up to such a breathtaking view can not be replicated by any resort, this can only be experienced by staying on a working farm! This is where Packwood has made it unforgettable!

Located far enough out of town that there is constant peace and no noise from traffic or people walking past but, close enough that going out for supper or to get food from the shops to make a supper back at the cottage, isn't a mission. The best part is that you can book for a supper to be made by the lovely Ilsa, which is made out of the farm's produce!

Packwood has the dairy on the farm as well as all the Vineyards - the cheese and wine is to die for - but just outside the front gates you stumble onto the Fisanthoek/Harkerville hiking trails which can make a great day outing. There are loads of places to do mountain biking and not far from the estate are many other hiking trails to choose from! With a huge variety of tourist destinations within a 25km radius either direction of the farm it makes a perfect location! I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraLeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our wine arrived from Packwood Wine Estate yesterday... It is chilled and ready to be enjoyed later tonight.

Vicky and Peter Gent really have developed the nicest wine I have ever tasted and over the weekend we agreed that nothing can compare to their wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If I write everything I'd like to say about this amazing place, you won't read it all as there is too much to say. Condensed, the location is spectacular set on 1000 acres of dairy farm in the original 60's farm house. We were met by the owner, Vicky, who made us feel immediately welcome and we settled in to what was to be 3 days of feeling like we were completely at home. Situated perfectly between beautiful Plettenberg Bay and Knysna, Packwood is minutes from everything that the two towns have to offer. Fact is, we spent most of our time on the farm, it's that beautiful. Vicky and Peter have worked tirelessly to create wonderful environment and Ilsa, Vicky's right hand in running the B&B is lovely, easy going and accommodating to every detail. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKJONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Packwood estate is ideal for those wanting a personal chef to cater for your meals, lovely rooms, peaceful setting on a huge rolling estate with vineyards and horses, but not at some crazy over the top price. The owners are lovely, but not terribly involved, the manageress who is also the chef is a gem!
Its truly a special place with sweeping views down to the ocean.
Much better than staying in Plettenberg itself, as it has this haven of traquility feel to it, and really lovely to come back to after a day of exploring Knysna or Plettenberg or Tsitsikamma or Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My husband and I "found" Packwood Estate on a dirt road between Knysna and Plettenberg and fell in love with it when we saw the thatched roof cottages and tastefully decorated rooms painted in soft colors and the for ever view over fields, woods and into the mountains.. We did not have a reservation but the Garden Room was available which we booked for the night. Once here, we did not want to go out to eat so dinner was prepared and served for us. The candlelit room was charming and tasty dishes were served with cheese and wine from the estate. We met Vicky and Peter, the owners, the next day and were shown all around the estate, got to see their beautiful home which they built themselves on top of the hill with incredible views. We were given ideas how to spend more time in the area and added three more nights to our stay. We recommend Packwood Estates to the traveler looking for peace and tranquility in tastefully decorated rooms.
Ingrid andByron Greenfield USA

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safari41073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#15 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packwood Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packwood Country Estate

Property: Packwood Country Estate
Address: Fisanthoek Road | Near Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Packwood Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A taste of country living at its best, Packwood offers a unique experience, set in 1000 acres of pristine countryside, fantastic views over to the Tstiskamma mountains and down to the ocean, wholesome cuisine using produce from the vineyard, dairy and gardens, beautiful accom, an abundance of bird life, hiking, cycling, riding, shooting and fishing on the estate, tranquility, exclusivity and privacy coupled with home from home hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing