We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packwood Country Estate
Certificate of Excellence
tenterden kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My wife and I have just completed our fourth visit to Packwood and it gets better every time.Packwood is situated 5k off the main Road between Plettenberg bay and Knysna and is a hidden gem.The situation and accomodation suit us perfectly.Remote,but not isolated it is a birdwatchers paradise with beautiful settings thrown in for good measure.The estate produces its own dairy produce and Vicky an Peter Gent,the proprietors,have just produced their first Sauvignon Blanc wine from recently planted vines and very good it is too.Food is first class and if you want to go to Knysna or Plettenberg bay it is an easy drive.As a golfer I was really pleased with the number of courses within 10-15 k radius.We will be going back next year and can only highly recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lonniedonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    13
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

After ten years of coming to South Africa and staying with my daughter, son in law and grandchildren in CapeTown, this time my husband and I finally ventured out to the Garden Route and after a few days in Knysna we stayed at Packwood; a recommendation from my son in law after they had stayed there a few years before.
It was everything we could have asked for, wonderful food, great Sauvignon Blanc produced locally, the wonderful company of our hosts Peter and Vicky and above all such a wonderful peaceful tranquil setting that allowed us to slip totally into our relaxing holiday and forget completely the snow and ice we left behind in the West Midlands. The location of Packwood affords beautiful un-interrupted views through the valley and with it being four to five k's off the main Knysna-Plett Road the only sound you here are of the birds. Plett is close enough for the beach, the shops and restaurants should you need them, although Vicky and Peter were always on hand should we have wanted to eat in.
It's an absolute gem and we'd be back in a flash.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franche-Comte, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My partner chose The Packwood Estate as we were keen to re-visit Kynsna and I wanted to show him Plettenberg Bay and Storm River. The estate suited us as it is roughly the same distance to Plett and Kynsna. As with our visit to Hermanus, nothing could quite have prepared us for the spectacular view once we reached the estate at the end of what they call a good untarred road (I was unphased as it reminded me of the country lanes where I was brought up in Devon). A view which we also enjoyed from our bedroom window. The sunrise room with its four poster bed and two bathrooms was well appointed. Though I may have preferred a television and wi-fi access in the room, in point of fact the TV lounge was wonderfully comfortable (we enjoyed a bottle of the estates's excellent wine while catching up on news at home) and I was able to plug my notebook in at the reception area. We noted on our confirmation form that we could pre-order dinner at the estate but opted instead to drive to Kynsna.

After a good night's sleep we were served an excellent breakfast and on the second day the weather was good enough to enjoy breakfast on the terrace with the stunning views. Sadly we didn't have time to try the pool - next time!

If you want to be in the center of a buzzy town then this place wouldn't suit. If like us you want to have a mix of what the Garden Route has to offer, Packwood should be high up on your list.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Dissapointed that the remote setting of the Packwood is not mentioned in marketing information.On arrival after 15minute drive on unsurfaced,unlit road we were informed we could not book for dinner as we had not given prior notice although we arrived at the earliest available book in time of 2.00pm this meant a 30min drive to the nearest restaurant via the unsurfaced, unlit road. As no alternatives were offered we decided not to stay and moved to another location more central. Tha Packwood has a 4 star rating but the service and location did not seem comparable with other 4 star locations we had stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
9.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
9.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
8.9 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#18 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packwood Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packwood Country Estate

Property: Packwood Country Estate
Address: Fisanthoek Road | Near Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Packwood Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A taste of country living at its best, Packwood offers a unique experience, set in 1000 acres of pristine countryside, fantastic views over to the Tstiskamma mountains and down to the ocean, wholesome cuisine using produce from the vineyard, dairy and gardens, beautiful accom, an abundance of bird life, hiking, cycling, riding, shooting and fishing on the estate, tranquility, exclusivity and privacy coupled with home from home hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing