We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and great wine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Packwood Country Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Having driven along the N2 from Cape Town we arrived at Packwood to be met by Vicky and Peter Gent whilst looking out at the most amazings views across the farm. Breakfast was a delight sitting outside looking at the view and after a dip in the pool sitting in peace and quiet on the decking again looking out as far as the eye can see. Not only lovely fresh milk from the jersey cows, mature cheddar made from their own milk but delicous sauvignon blanc from the Packwood vines. wish we could have brought more of that home!!
Great place to be as both Knysna and Plett are less than 30 mins away and Vicky will happily recommend things to do and places to eat. We spent 5 days( having booked 4) here and really did not want to leave but we were truly relaxed and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishamsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed here for two nights in November during our second trip to South Africa as part of a week long trip along the Garden Route. Packwood is a beautiful country house on a working farm and vineyard with stunning views down to Plettenberg Bay. Our hosts, Vicky and Peter were charming, very hospitable and our room was perfect - very large and sunny with his and hers bathrooms. The house itself is stunning and the service provided by Illsa the housekeeper was superb - her cooking was first class. This is a wonderful place to stay if you want complete relaxation, excellent hospitality and first class accommodation. The wine produced on the vineyard is also excellent - we are looking forward to drinking the small supply we brought home. We would definately go back to Packwood.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank WestCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed in the Family House at the top of the estate overlooking fantastic views. The house was very spacious with 3 double bedrooms and a large lounge and kitchen. There is a lovely deck to sit out and watch the sunsets, the stars in the sky are out of this world. Peter and Vicky were great hosts and nothing was took much trouble, we loved the fresh milk from the farm and the cheese that was also made from the milk.
We enjoyed helping pick the Pinot Noir grapes in their vineyard which will be used to make champagne, which should be available to drink in 3 years time, we can't wait we will be back for the tasting! The setting was just what we needed very tranquill and you could escape all the rush of the real world. It is well located to visit Knysna, Plettenburg Bay and The Elephant Park which is a must see, just ask Peter and Vicky for directions, you can even sleep the night with the Elephants if you wish. We loved all the attention to detail on this very well maintained Estate.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My wife and I have just completed our fourth visit to Packwood and it gets better every time.Packwood is situated 5k off the main Road between Plettenberg bay and Knysna and is a hidden gem.The situation and accomodation suit us perfectly.Remote,but not isolated it is a birdwatchers paradise with beautiful settings thrown in for good measure.The estate produces its own dairy produce and Vicky an Peter Gent,the proprietors,have just produced their first Sauvignon Blanc wine from recently planted vines and very good it is too.Food is first class and if you want to go to Knysna or Plettenberg bay it is an easy drive.As a golfer I was really pleased with the number of courses within 10-15 k radius.We will be going back next year and can only highly recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonniedonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

After ten years of coming to South Africa and staying with my daughter, son in law and grandchildren in CapeTown, this time my husband and I finally ventured out to the Garden Route and after a few days in Knysna we stayed at Packwood; a recommendation from my son in law after they had stayed there a few years before.
It was everything we could have asked for, wonderful food, great Sauvignon Blanc produced locally, the wonderful company of our hosts Peter and Vicky and above all such a wonderful peaceful tranquil setting that allowed us to slip totally into our relaxing holiday and forget completely the snow and ice we left behind in the West Midlands. The location of Packwood affords beautiful un-interrupted views through the valley and with it being four to five k's off the main Knysna-Plett Road the only sound you here are of the birds. Plett is close enough for the beach, the shops and restaurants should you need them, although Vicky and Peter were always on hand should we have wanted to eat in.
It's an absolute gem and we'd be back in a flash.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My partner chose The Packwood Estate as we were keen to re-visit Kynsna and I wanted to show him Plettenberg Bay and Storm River. The estate suited us as it is roughly the same distance to Plett and Kynsna. As with our visit to Hermanus, nothing could quite have prepared us for the spectacular view once we reached the estate at the end of what they call a good untarred road (I was unphased as it reminded me of the country lanes where I was brought up in Devon). A view which we also enjoyed from our bedroom window. The sunrise room with its four poster bed and two bathrooms was well appointed. Though I may have preferred a television and wi-fi access in the room, in point of fact the TV lounge was wonderfully comfortable (we enjoyed a bottle of the estates's excellent wine while catching up on news at home) and I was able to plug my notebook in at the reception area. We noted on our confirmation form that we could pre-order dinner at the estate but opted instead to drive to Kynsna.

After a good night's sleep we were served an excellent breakfast and on the second day the weather was good enough to enjoy breakfast on the terrace with the stunning views. Sadly we didn't have time to try the pool - next time!

If you want to be in the center of a buzzy town then this place wouldn't suit. If like us you want to have a mix of what the Garden Route has to offer, Packwood should be high up on your list.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Dissapointed that the remote setting of the Packwood is not mentioned in marketing information.On arrival after 15minute drive on unsurfaced,unlit road we were informed we could not book for dinner as we had not given prior notice although we arrived at the earliest available book in time of 2.00pm this meant a 30min drive to the nearest restaurant via the unsurfaced, unlit road. As no alternatives were offered we decided not to stay and moved to another location more central. Tha Packwood has a 4 star rating but the service and location did not seem comparable with other 4 star locations we had stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RayRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
576 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
294 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
311 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packwood Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packwood Country Estate

Address: Fisanthoek Road | Near Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £60 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Packwood Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A taste of country living at its best, Packwood offers a unique experience, set in 1000 acres of pristine countryside, fantastic views over to the Tstiskamma mountains and down to the ocean, wholesome cuisine using produce from the vineyard, dairy and gardens, beautiful accom, an abundance of bird life, hiking, cycling, riding, shooting and fishing on the estate, tranquility, exclusivity and privacy coupled with home from home hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing