We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large cottages and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Tree Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“large cottages and good value”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

During a trip through South-Africa, we have stayed two nights in a spacious two bedroom two bathroom cottage at Coral Tree. It was the second time we have used this accommodation. The first time was in October 2004. We were received by Shirley and Gary Redman in a friendly style. The cottage was very spacious and had a private pool. Breakfast is optional at an extra charge. Entrance to Adventure Land was included in the rate. Coral Tree Cottages is situated between Plettenberg Bay and Knysna and is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area, Tsjitjikama Park included. There are no restaurants or pubs within walking distance and you have to take the car when you go out for dinner, but that wasn't a problem for us. Plettenberg Bay is within driving distance and has many facilities. Shirley and Gary did everything to make us welcome during our stay. It is clearly a family business and their three children (14, 8 and 5) seem to be very used to sharing the grounds with guests as well as the three dogs running around cheerfully. Many kids in South-Africa would be very pleased to grow up in such a beautiful area and wonderful climate. It will be another couple of years before I go back to South-Africa, because there are so many more countries to visit. But when, I return, Coral Tree is definitely worth a third visit. And after a conversation with Shirley, I am very interested whether the Redman's will still be running the place in a couple of years. Running a place like that is hard work, even when the kids grow up and get more involved in the business. But Shirley and Gary are doing a good job there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of South Africa. The cottages were well spread out and not overlooked. Each came with its own BBQ together with its own charcoal, fire lighters and logs, which were cleaned on a daily basis.
Whilst the cottages were well appointed we were a little disappointed as there was no shower. However, there was a bath with plenty of hot water. The cottage and kitchen equipment were spotlessly clean, even though there was the odd bug. (to be expected given the beautiful surroundings).
We enjoyed our stay here and the opportunity to cook our own food and enjoy the outside space. There are a lot of facilities which would clearly suit families.
There was no air con however this was not a problem when we visited in March. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a peaceful few days.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PippaNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We spent a lovely few days at Coral Tree Cottages

Loved:
- Privacy of each cottage, i.e. each cottage has own garden area which is enclosed by pretty hedges and trees
- large spacious bedroom
- Maxwell Williams crockery in kitchen! (Kitchen cupboards had comprehensive inventory!)
-Trustworthy staff (in haste to leave, forgot my earrings and expensive watch in room one day and was concerned that cleaning staff might swipe it - i needn't be concerned!)
-Daily cleaning service - cottage and breakfast dishes + braai area
-Small extra touches - salt, pepper, coffee, tea, sugar and milk provided on arrival - this is not normal practice at self catering units
- Shirley and Gary (the owners) - very pleasant couple with great kids! Envy these kids for having such beautiful surroundings to grow up in!
- Free access to "Adventure Land" - unfortunately, we didnt get to use, but I'm sure had our child been a bit older, it would have been a real hit!
-Kiddies play area (outside owners home, so not sure whether for private use, but they didnt mind when asked whether our child could play there in fact their litte 4 yr old said "everyone plays with my toys and then they break them" - despite this, he still didn't mind sharing!

Things that were not that great:-
- Bathroom only had a bath and handshower (we stayed in Kingfisher)
- Sofa in lounge uncomfortable

Despite the negatives, we had a lovely stay and our 1.5 year old had an absolute ball!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagu - South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Only for one night, but we enjoyed our stay very much. Joop & Micky

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meijercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
248 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Tree Cottages

Property: Coral Tree Cottages
Address: 2 On N | 12km from Plettenberg Bay towards Knysna, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Tree Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourism Graded, 4 Star Accommodation at Coral Tree Cottages offers you a home away from home to explore the delights of the Garden Route. Centrally situated along the Garden Route between Plettenberg Bay and Knysna, just 3km from Garden of Eden, Coral Tree Cottages makes the ideal base for exploring the Garden Route. Within easy reach are the famous Cango Caves, Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and many world class golf courses including the luxurious Pezula Resort Hotel. No matter what time of the year you wish to visit, Plettenberg Bay offers many attractions. Visit Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Knysna Elephant Park, view whales and dolphins, go on a game safari, cycle through the indigenous forests or hike the many exciting trails Plettenberg Bay has to offer. The accommodation at Coral Tree Cottages consists of three spacious single bedroom and three 2 bedroom thatched cottages. Although the cottages are self-catering, bed and breakfast is available. They are also serviced daily. Coral Tree Cottages boasts it's own water park on the 24 hectare property known as Adventure Land, catering for the daredevil and the children. Within Adventure Land there is a play park with swings, trampolines, jungle gym and lots more. If that's not enough then take a quad bike ride on an exciting and scenic 3.5 km route through our forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing