We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, jungle like!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masescha Country Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Masescha Country Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, jungle like!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

British couple running a very friendly guesthouse. The room was seriously homely and big whilst being very private with our own BBQ area. Awesome breakfast including proper English tea! But the most amazing thing about this place is the garden. All 11 hectares of it. Home to monkeys, birds and even antelope from time to time! Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantellekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I found Masescha in a booklet of places to stay. We called up and spoke to Angie, who offered us a room for R300/night. That was such a good price, we went straight there. When we arrived, we met Ray who was apologetic and said the room had been rented, but they would give us another room for the same price.
The room was wonderful and the view was incredible. Ray and Angie were so helpful in getting us some crockery and a microwave, and gave us a lot of advice about what to see and where to go.

The grounds are amazing, and we saw lots of birds. Tucking trousers in is advised, as there are a lot of ticks around.

We really enjoyed our stay and decided to stay there again on our way back along the Garden Route. Angie and Ray are perfect hosts and we will definitely return if we ever get back to South Africa.

Many thanks to Angie and Ray for all of the chat and help!

Room Tip: Just tell the hosts what you are after, and they'll find something to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Masescha Country Estate is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. It is located just of the N2 between Plett and Knysna so ideal for exploring the Garden Route. The room was lovely and comfortable and had a deck to sit out on, it was lovely to sit and listen to all the amazing birds.
Ray and Angie are great hosts, and made me feel welcome the moment i arrived. Make sure you book for breakfast as Angie does an amazing cooked breakfast.
I will certainly return when i go back to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seals33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Mascesha's location is superb, within the buzzing Plettenberg Bay yet so peaceful and relaxing.
A beatiful setting whether with spouse or with children. Ray and Angie's warmth and care demostrate the spirit of ubuntu (humanity), we felt welcome and really enjoyed our stay.

Perfect getaway for those school holidays (family time with no distractions)
.

Room Tip: Sunbird is suitable for a family with two kids (not older than 10 years).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEAZSWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had such a splendid time at Masescha... the property is breathtaking and the facilities beyond adequate. Our hosts, Ray and Angie, added that personal touch to our stay and went out of their way to cater to our needs. The breakfast is a definite must, and if you have good weather the Estate is situated in close proximity to a number of tourist hot spots. We would definitely return... it is simply idyllic for two lovers escaping the bustle of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a catered room, which was perfect for us. But if you are looking to cook, then you shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay with so much to do in the surrounding area , yet returning after a busy day to the peace and tranquillity of Masescha to chill out and relax .It was so friendly even the dog Jasper only wanted his tummy tickling all the time and in the morning a Mallard duck kept arriving for breakfast!.Our unit waswell equipped and very clean while the breakfast was very varied including some of Angies home made muffins and jams.A lovely pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is one the nicest places we stayed in while in South Africa! The room was up to par with midrange hotels. The owners are more than friendly, location excellent (very near Plett Bay and Knysna), and the estate overall is beautiful. There are presumably a lot of nice places to stay at the Garden Route that are a great value for money, and this is definitely one of those places.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romano011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Whale of a View
A Whale of a View
#43 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#5 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tree Cottages
Coral Tree Cottages
#15 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masescha Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masescha Country Estate

Property: Masescha Country Estate
Address: Portion 17 of Farm 427, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masescha Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Masescha Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing