We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place for peace, tranquility and a fabulous breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Masescha Country Estate
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for peace, tranquility and a fabulous breakfast”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Masescha for 4 nights and are so pleased that we found this fabulous accommodation. The location is so peaceful just the birds singing and the frogs croaking. You could be miles from anywhere when at Masescha but being situated between knysna and Plettenburg you are spoilt for choice which way to go. We had a very pretty room which was spotlessly clean and every thought had been given to what we may need. Angie and Ray our hosts were welcoming, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. As we are two ladies travelling on our own we felt safe and secure. A beautiful swimming pool was at our disposal and we could barbecue right outside our room which had a deck area with table and chairs. The breakfast was amazing with little touches that made you feel each breakfast served is special. Breakfast was served on the deck which is high above the valley giving you the most fantastic views. The value of this accommodation is unbelievable. Do not hesitate to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patspouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at MASESCHA Country Estate, this time it was for 10 days it is just beautiful, so peaceful.
Angie and Ray are such nice people, nothing is too much trouble, they can arrange trips for you, and will find you the best restaurants to eat at, and their knowledge of the area and beyond is so interesting, you are greeted by a bubbly friendly Angie, you feel at home right away.
A few minutes up the road is The ELEPHANT Park, you can feed and touch and walk with the Elephants, that was wonderful, then you can have a lovely meal at the restaurant, a choice to suit everyone, we were there on a Sunday, Sunday roast lunch was yummy. ( AS ARE ANGIES SPECIAL BREAKFASTS).
There is so much you can do not far away, beautiful beaches, Knynsna and Plettenburg, well worth a visit, if you only want to relax and stay at MASESCHA ,then you can swim in the lovely warm pool, and watch the monkeys in the trees.
Thank you so much Angie and Ray you made my holiday, really do hope I can visit you again.
Suzanne P

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suzanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Masescha for three nights (21 through 24 November 2013). We enjoyed our stay very much, not only thanks to the peaceful location ("solitude without isolation" really makes the point), but essentially because of the adorable hosts Angie & Ray.

Located between Knynsna and Plettenburg (only a few minutes drive from each), Masescha was the ideal home base to explore the surroundings. Angie & Ray were not only very knowledgeable about the countless activities (and were happy to make reservations for us), but also provided excellent restaurant recommendations.

Re activities: We did the big hike on Robberg peninsula in Plettenburg (approx. 3-4 hrs, hiking boots essential - unsuitable for children, but the smaller loops are easier), a Featherbed lagoon cruise in Knysna and the Horseback Safari. All very enjoyable.

The breakfast we had booked at Masescha as well was extremely rich (several fruits, yoghurt, cereals, eggs, juice, toast etc.) and tasty - just what you need to start the day with.

We would always stay at Masescha again (as long as it's run by Angie & Ray!) and hope to visit again in the near future! Thank you again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bierir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in Sunbird cottage, enjoying the tranquil setting and home comforts - equipped with everything you could possibly need and more! Easy reach for both Knysna and Plett, and also Tsisikamma, so heaps to do on the doorstep - would like to have enjoyed more relax time but perhaps next time ... Ray and Angie were incredibly helpful, booking a trip and a restaurant for us and recommending things to see and do. We would definitely return here should we be fortunate enough to travel back to SA.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were very warmly welcomed by our lovely engaging hostess Angie, as we pulled in for our 3 night stay in one of the little cottages on the estate. The little cottage was perfect for us and adequately furnished. We enjoyed our breakfasts on our little veranda in the sun surrounded by tall trees and a beautiful gargen filled with birdsong that extended into the woods. It is one of the few pet-friendly places in Plett and our dog enjoyed watching a Vervet Monkey and her young baby hop around in the trees. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back to try one of the other little cottages. Thank you Angie!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I found a jewel - set amongst the trees, away from the proverbial hamster - Masescha Country Estate. My unit, Lavender, was spotlessly clean & equipped with everything I needed. How thoughtful to switch on the heater before I arrived on rather a cold, bleak afternoon. Josh hobbling around on crutches, was the perfect host. Ray & Angie arrived soon after - I felt as though I had known them forever & had come home. My initial booking for 2 nights turned into 6 nights....why move on if one doesn't have to!!!
Nothing is too much trouble for Ray, Angie (who makes the best baked cheese cake this side of the equator!) & Josh. Availalbe 24/7 & only a phone call away.
I can only commend, & recommend, the Masescha Country Estate.
Ray, Angie & Josh are the most wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Lavender suited my needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great value for money. Felt like home away from home. House is situated right between Plett & Knysna, so within easy reach to all touristy spots. House is lovely and has many extra little soft touches. Being a family of 9 we had plenty of place to move. Ray and Angie were very helpful. Thank you, I hope we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
7.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
12.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
113 Robberg
113 Robberg
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
88 reviews
7.9 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
153 reviews
7.0 mi away
Antlers Lodge
Antlers Lodge
#9 of 9 in The Crags
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masescha Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masescha Country Estate

Property: Masescha Country Estate
Address: Portion 17 of Farm 427, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Masescha Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 12 hectares at the heart of the Garden Route just minutes from Plettenberg Bay and Knysna, this delightful 3 Star Graded owner managed property welcomes guests seeking a restful getaway. The essence of Masescha is to experience a slower pace of life. Often the only accompaniment is the song of the birds and a gently whispering breeze. A majestic forest backdrop frames an atmosphere of calm, relaxation and restfulness creating an idyllic scene for outdoor enthusiasts, birdwatchers and nature lovers alike to enjoy a rejuvenating break away from the hubbub of everyday life. Masescha means Hidden or Masked – appropriately named, as we are nestled in a valley free of road noise. We offer a flexible variety of clean, fully equipped self-catering facilities within an established garden setting to suit all budgets with free Wi-fi Internet access available on site. A warm welcome awaits at Masescha. Come and experience our real haven of tranquility! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Masescha Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing