We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful outing` up the Creek`”

Keurbooms River Ferries
Ranked #5 of 23 Tours in Plettenberg Bay
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A very peaceful and informative chug up the Keurbooms River for 2-3 hours with Russel the owner and guide of the ferry, a man who knows everything about this river, from the time of the ox cart. After traveling up the river, we turned and spent time on a small beach, to picnic, if you like, and take a walk into the forest and loo. If you are interested in this sort of history of the area, and want a peaceful few hours, this one is for you.

Thank Tess272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fauna and flora"
in 3 reviews
"rock formations"
in 3 reviews
"bird life"
in 4 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 2 reviews
"russell"
in 16 reviews
"cruise"
in 7 reviews
"picnic"
in 13 reviews
"boat"
in 16 reviews
"skipper"
in 5 reviews
"scenery"
in 5 reviews
"kingfisher"
in 3 reviews
"facinating"
in 2 reviews
"jellyfish"
in 2 reviews
"nature"
in 6 reviews
"forest"
in 7 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Relaxed, informative trip up the river. The water is clear, pure but brown in colour. Russell, the skipper, is very knowledgeable and interesting. Time to stop at a beach and swim or wander through the woods. Drinks are available on board or bring your own. Just need to phone the day before to make sure the tour is running

Thank Happyday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In October 2013 we went on a river trip with Russell. The information about the fauna, flora and geology of the area that he passed on was fantastic. He also knew a lot about other attractions/ restaurants and places to visit in the area. When we were in the area again in February 2014 with a relative from Jersey, Channel Islands, we simply had to do it again. What a trip. We had a lovely swim at the turn-around point and got more recommendations from Russell. Not to be missed when you are in the area. Remember to take your own drinks, snacks and swimming gear. The stop at the turn-around point ( lovely beach with picnic tables and a loo) is for half an hour so you have enough time there to just enjoy it.

2  Thank Wynand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

In February 2014 we attended a wedding on the beach at Keurboomstrand. As the newly weds and many guests reside overseas, the wedding was a weekend affair. After a "Bring and Braai" lunch we all hopped on the Keurboom Ferry. While sipping our drinks (which you have to take yourself) we were given facinating, interesting and funny facts, from the very well informed skipper, about this beautiful area. A surprise "pit stop",at the cutest little beach, had many of the party in the water immediately.
Daredevils, including the groom, spoiled us with a display of diving off the rocks. (They know the area well!)
The cruise is suitable for all ages.
A well worthwhile experience.
A tip, wear a swimming costume under your clothes and take a towel, unless you don't mind showing off your underwear!

Thank 633pennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The river is part of a national park and it is the only means of access to to this park. The round trip takes 2.5 hours and it passes though some very tranquil scenery.

Thank Humphrey_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keurbooms River Ferries also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Keurbooms River Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing