We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't give key deposits back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo for Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
JP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They don't give key deposits back”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Beware! Albergo has a habit of not returning room key deposits! A nice little trick to earn a few extra Rand. I asked them to post the money to me at different accommodation...it never arrived despite their word the money had been sent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
29
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey,England
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Centrally located.
Room with an ensuite chosen. Reasonably priced. Own small garden with table and chairs - useful for breakfast. Towels provided. Refundable deposit for key.
Near to pizza and other eating places.
Tea and coffee making facilities in central area. Also barbecue facilities.
Car parking facilities.
quiet.
Staff helpful

Room Tip: Room away from the main gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zyxwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Thanks for the excellent South African experience. The Brai was the great social event I will be stealing some of the idea's for a future backpackers at West-Coast Wild Adventures Zip-line in beautiful British Columbia.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Österreich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

very nice backpackers in plettenberg bay. very friendly recepionists. everyday there is a fire prepaired for braii where you meet interesting people. many tours can be organized by the helpfull staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Very close to the beach
BBQs every night from 7pm
Comfy and cosy dorms
Places to store food-no freezer or an oven though
Very close to supermarket
Pool table available (R2)
Free tea and coffee
Internet and wifi available but it's not free
Tv room to watch sports and movies

Only bad points are...
Cleaners sit around in the kitchen a lot which is strange
Taps to the shower get extremely hot and it's very hard to turn the got tap off!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

The Albergo for Backpackers is situated in the absolutely best spot in Plettenberg Bay. The beach, shops, restaurants and nightlife are all within easy walking distance. You can literally see the whales and the dolphins out of your bed! The staff is fantastic!
To be honest this is not what you would expect for a lodge! The confort is comparable to a real hotel! I am sure this is the best hostel in plettenberg! As I mentioned already nothing can beat this location! I stayed in one other hostel in plettenberg and I can say that this one is much much better! What more do you want? Friendly staff, super confortable, best location, crazy view!! Thanks albergo!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Spent 3 nights here, first time in a backpackers and wasn't what I was expecting. Very clean and modern, huge garden for Braii's, friendly staff and right in town, superb and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
#22 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo for Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo for Backpackers

Property: Albergo for Backpackers
Address: 8 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo for Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo for Backpackers Hostel Plettenberg Bay is situated in absolutely the best spot in our beautiful little town. The beach, shops, restaurants and nightlife are all within easy walking distance. We offer the following accommodation: Camping Dorm beds (10 and 12 bedded dorm rooms) Private rooms with shared bathroom for 1 to 6 persons Nothing can beat our stunning views from the balcony. Dolphins and whales are often spotted cruising the beautiful bay of Plettenberg Bay. For those who just want to have a lazy day, you can relax in our beautiful garden. Swinging hammocks and hanging chairs are waiting for you. The Garden is set around our communal area. Free Tea and Coffee is available for our guests. At Albergo for Backpackers Hostel Plettenberg Bay, every night is a bonfire night. We can teach you the art of traditional South African outdoor cooking. In South Africa that is called a "Braai". At Albergo's One Stop Action Shop (our activity center) we offer all information about activities in the area. Our helpful staff will gladly assist you with bookings. (always ask for the special backpacker prices). A shuttle service is available for transport to the various activities. It is also possible to reach some of the activities by local taxis. Ask for the nearby Taxi rank. Plettenberg Bay has gorgeous beaches. It is also possible to practice your surfing skills. We have surfboards for hire. Use of Body Boards is for free. The beach is in walking distance of the backpackers. Albergo for Backpackers Hostel Plettenberg Bay offers FREE Wi-Fi and internet. In our reception we have a computer available for our guests. Our reception is open until 10.00 p.m. Our Bar Albergo for Backpackers has a liquor licence.Our bar is fully stocked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Albergo for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing