We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Great Brak River, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Plett Rage would not have been nearly as great if it was not for Amakaya's friendly staff, good facilities and homie feeling. I had the best time of my life at Amakaya and I made frinds that would last for ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    63
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
50
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

this is a great backpackers - everything you want - good, cheap food, cheap accommodation, wonderful community - plus the setting is beautiful. overlooks canopy of indigenous forest, filled with bird song.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed the night here on our way to Jeffery's Bay and were very pleasantly surprised. The double room we had was very reasonably priced, was clean and we had a great night sleep. Gerhardt was such a good host and although we were the only ones up in the bar that evening, he and his dog Sky were most than happy to keep us company. Always great to have a dog around to make it feel safer and more like home! Definitely would recommend Amakaya to others traveling in the Plettenberg Bay area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelic81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Amakaya was a great rest for a night while travelling on to Jeffrey's bay. The double suite was excellent value and very clean with a deck and a large bathroom. The host and his dog " sky" we're super nice! He taught us how to play darts and kept score while being our bartender as well. We stayed up and he gave us some great talks on some history of his country. Thanks so much. He even gave us a discount card for a great restaurant down the road which we really enjoyed after a long day of driving. Thanks again! Ian and jen . Squamish. BC, Canada.

Room Tip: We chose the double suite for 30 us a night, private deck, private bathroom, tv, view! Excellent val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Amakaya and found it to be a nice hostel. It was clean, had a large kitchen, and seating area with a TV and stereo. We slept in the dorm room outside and found it to be quiet, although you can hear what's going on in reception. There is a bit of construction going on but it wasn't noisy and didn't start before at least 8am.

The best part of this hostel has to be the staff! Gerhardt was extremely friendly and helpful, always interested in our plans to see if he could provide any suggestions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was all in all a nice stay! We enjoyed the evenings in the bars. It was also a great opportunity to meet other travellers. It was a pity that we could not use our room that we booked because, it was painted the day before.You should do this in your off-Peak season. Then they put us in a very small room with a loft bed, which we didnt book. The shuttle service was a bit scary and not as expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hauke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hello Hauke

I am getting to a point when I become fed up with guests blatantly lying when they leave an establishment. If you were unhappy with anything you could have contacted me at any time as there are notices to the effect in our reception, lounge and bar with my personal mobile number. I was also there for a couple of hours each day you were there.

It is not always easy to control contractors doing a job of work and the painting of the room you were originally booked into was dependant on other work being completed first. There is no good time to do any sort of renovations as we have guestS in every day of the year. It is unfortunate that the paint smell took a few days to clear and it was not painted when we had originally planned to.

Gerhardt went out of his way to assist you and put you into a double room on the first night. For the remaining 2 nights the only room that was available was the private dorm which you were happy with at the time. If you had expressed any dissatisfaction we would have gladly arranged accommodation at another backpacker.

Gerhardt also went to great lengths to ensure that you were booked on various activities and even went as far as finding cheaper transport for you because you were not happy with the prices of the regular shuttle services. So don't complain about the shuttle - you wanted cheaper!

Please also let me know what promises were not kept as this is not the norm here at Amakaya. Reading other reviews that we have will support this statement.

In future if you have a problem during your travels have the decency to address it with the establishment while you are there so it can be rectified. You will find that in most cases the owners are open to constructive criticism and will be glad to assist.

Don't leave with friendly smiles and jokes as you did and then go a give a poor review after the fact!

There is an Afrikaans term for that - agterbaks. Look it up!

Regards

Dave Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welkom, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wonderfully welcoming reception, felt home and welcome immediately. Would really recommend Amakaya to anyone looking for good affordable accommodation. We used Amakaya as a stop over on the way to our honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hello Deon

Thanks for the review and glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Trust that the honeymoon destination was to your satisfaction and that you had a wonderful time.

Regards

Dave Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#12 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#54 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
12 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
193 reviews
7.4 mi away
Masescha Country Estate
Masescha Country Estate
#24 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Property: Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary wi-fi and internet facilities,coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay's Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments - situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing