We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Visit this lovely accommodation in Plettenberg Bay! :-) The staff was always very kind to us and helped us to plan and book all the activities we wanted to do. There is free Wifi, a bar with a balcony and a braai facility!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AntjeHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello Antje

Glad to hear that our staff met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Why not upload some of your pictures onto our facebook page.

Regards

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay there. Nice staff, good rooms& kitchen. Nice bar with great view and very good lacated within walking distance to center and beaches
Definetly recommendable and i would come here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katharina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello Katherina

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience.

If you do come this way again, give me advance notice and I will take you on one of our motorbike shuttle tours.

It will be a memorable experience.

Regards

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Thanks for a great stay. Will come and stay with you again! Secure parking and great people. Close to all you need in town. Your place made us drive a 300km detour just to stay there...now want to do n GS bike trip and come and stay over at your place :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Glad to hear that your detour was worthwhile.

Next time you in the area with the bike give me some advance warning and I will show you some routes.

If I cannot go with myself I will point you in the right direction!

Cheers

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent two relaxing nights at Amakaya Backpackers. The place has a variety of rooms to suit most travelers needs. Beds were very comfortable. Our host had some great ideas for restaurants in the area as well. Highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Plettenberg Bay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hello Carrie

Glad you enjoyed your stay and it isgood to hear that the recommendations given matched our expectations.

Must admit that you were not as bad as the movie!;))

Regards

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed a few days at this backpackers. The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. Overall it is very clean and well kept. The dorm I stayed in seemed a bit crammed and I didn't really know where to put my backpack but it was also clean and i had a good sleep. Close to the main street, supermarkets and in walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Cat

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know which dorm you stayed in so I can check on the space issue.

There is one is particular that sleeps only 2 and is quite small. Usually we will not put a second person in there is someone travelling alone sleeps in it.

Regards

Dave Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

WOW WOW WOW what a great time we had.. TO NEIL thank you thank so much for going out of your way to make Clinton's Birthday so special.. hope to see you guys soon.. the room was so clean and the staff so friendly.. everything was perfect, Thanx guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Madelein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a good time in Amakaya thanks to the friendly and helpful staff!! They helped me to book my day trips and very supportive overall. In terms of facilities, the hostel has a nice bar and a nice living room and a terrace! You can shill, meet people, etc. The rooms were a little bit small, and they could be renewed (new beds and maybe a ceiling fan). It was a busy time, full of people, so if you are looking for a quiet place, this is not the best option. If you are looking to meet people and have a good time, this is definitely the place to go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernardo S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#13 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#58 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galini Exclusive Homestay
Galini Exclusive Homestay
#26 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandalay Guest House
Mandalay Guest House
#20 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £8 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary wi-fi and internet facilities,coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay's Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments - situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing