We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Boheme B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Boheme B&B
Ranked #62 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

First of all - the only negative: it was a bit pricy. We booked the jackuzzi room for a night, and it was 750 rand plus we later found out we had to pay additional 200 rands for the jackuzzi to be on. But we wanted a luxury night as a couple, so it was ok. We got there, got safe and free parking and were shown into out room by the owner. He then gave us a map and explained everything around town before he left us to ourselves. It was as B&B should be - nice hosts but you are mostly on your own. The room was amazing. Huge bed, private jackuzzi, nice shower, seperate toilet, mini fridge, tv, fan, cute sink and mirror, coffee and tea table and nice overall look. Breakfast was also included. We loved this place :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Everything about La Boheme was great: the service, the room, the breakfast etc. Chris is a great host!

I always appreciate it when hotels/B&Bs manage to find that balance between looking after you and leaving you alone to do your own thing. I think La Boheme has struck that balance perfectly.

The bed was also fantastic, and the bathroom was lovely. Considering how great the place was, I'd say that it's very well priced.

We will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scotteza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
481 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

La Boheme has a great location and a few comfortable rooms. Breakfast is average, service is average, the so called pool is a joke unless you are a dwarf or 5 years old. All in all a little above average.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Enjoyed the stay, staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative things we experienced was that the shower was quite small in our room and the parking was a bit cramped when all guest rooms had guests.


  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TyroneH996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed in the well-appointed and well looked-after self catering accommodation, with additional breakfast; friendly owners, staff and pets; attractive grounds. A good base for Garden Route exploration, most convenient for those with a car, and easy to find off the N2.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nice little place with helpful owner and staff. Stayed there for two nights and got a good breakfast with nice company both mornings. A lot more social experience than in a regular hotel where I usually stays. The only downside was that it was quite close to a larger road and therefore some noice during the night. No huge problem for me but if you are a light sleeper it might be.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Pros:
- Clean room, OK view.
- Easy to find.
- Comfortable beds.
- Bottled water included.
- Provided a map of the area.
- Among lowest price in the region of Plettenberg Bay

Cons:
- Over-priced for what was given (even though among lowest in the region). Room was not air conditioned.
- Small bathroom. Shower only, no bath.
- Difficult/limited parking.
- Room did not include breakfast even though rate was R1,100 per night. Our B&B at the previous location was R600 per night and it included breakfast and a drink upon arrival AND it was air conditioned.
- Owners no-where to be found for checkout. They rented out their own master bedroom and went camping for the night. We left the keys with the cleaning ladies and left the premises.
- Lots of rules – we were not allowed to enter through the front door (although other guests can and the front door was much easier to walk through); and were told to restrict internet use to low bandwith items like email (other B&B’s made no mention of this), the room itself had notices everywhere such as keeping noise low or not using the towels to remove makeup (highly random but anyways).
- Upon arrival, asked the female owner for places to eat. She just said “there are many on the main road” without making a specific recommendation. This was different from the B&B we stayed the previous night.

Overall, I think the attitude of the owners need to improve as they treat this B&B (without the second B as no breakfast) as a cash cow money grabbing scheme – especially given the fact that they went camping and sold out their own room and didn’t show up in the morning to check us out. Even though they are among the lowest price at around R1100 per night in the area, they can at least put more effort in customer service. Unless service/attitude improves, I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolioblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plettenberg Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thanda Vista
Thanda Vista
#17 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lala Panzi B&B
Lala Panzi B&B
#32 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#51 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ohannas BnB & Self Catering
Ohannas BnB & Self Catering
#72 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boheme B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boheme B&B

Property: La Boheme B&B
Address: 1 Typhoon Terrace, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Boheme B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast is a uniquely affordable 4-star accredited guest house in Plettenberg Bay. Cottage interiors with classic beach-house decor are complimented with a rustic touch, home-style amenities, and luxury facilities. The guesthouse is situated one minute drive from both Plett’s Main Street and the Market Square shopping areas and two minutes from the whale-watching operators at Main Beach and the 4-kilometeres of golden sand that is Robberg Beach. A dip in the plunge pool followed by a Jacuzzi (bubbly in hand) affords the perfect interlude between a day at the beach and supper at one of Plett’s many restaurants. If ‘dining in’ is your pleasure, a covered Verandah with Braai (barbecue) facilities is available for a traditional South African holiday feast. Your host, local Chris Myburgh, beats any guidebook for pointing you to the best beaches and attractions that Plettenberg Bay has to offer. La Boheme offers a lounge with fireplace for chillier evenings. Full Continental and English breakfasts are served. Free Internet. Babysitting and airport transfers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Boheme B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing