We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely 2nd time time”
Review of Emily Moon

Emily Moon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Riebeek-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely 2nd time time”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our 2nd visit and once again a very pleasant experience marred only by the fact that the cream had not been delivered that day, so our much-longed for Irish coffees were not a possibility.
The maître d (or owner?) recommended a really lovely bottle of red wine (in our price range) which we enjoyed with the meal. Delicious starters (wrapped goats cheese for me and duck confit for Mike), followed by salmon for me and lamb rack for Mike. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the lovely spice on my salmon; the description reminded me of tamarind (which it was not). Mike’s poached pear in chocolate was delicious (I had a taste); all I wanted was my Irish coffee :-(
I’m still keen to return one lunch time so that I can enjoy the view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPWfmPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    179
    76
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Sundowners”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Magnificent views of the sunset and great service making our experience special.
Will recommend to friends

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeneR4270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Tucked away back from the main road Emily Moon is a lovely setting. Food and welcome from the staff is also excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic and consistent with excellent food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The setting is pure romance, the views just stunning (of the Bitou Valley). Candles, lamps, fairy lights. Dinner only. Great service, winning ambience. Moroccon, Indonesian, African – chic and matched perfectly. A fireplace inside for winter and a fireplace outside, with a few “lounge” seating areas in the garden. Very good wine options, and a special list with a few special wines for impressing the lady or the boss. The food is decent portions and always very well prepared. The menu changes evry now and then with some "in season" options added. Had the most stunning seared tuna, salmon, kudu and fillet steaks, seafood, prawns, Patagonion calamari, to name a few. The pavlova and berries, crème brulee and choc brownies are plate licking good. Just a stunning place, that’s all! Jo and Werner are great people...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProteaWilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a must visit if you are anywhere near! The alfresco dining area is very beautiful. Go in time to see sunset. They have outside fires and the food is excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeoffDawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emily Moon also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Emily Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing