We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here we are again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Here we are again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Here we are again - staying at Bitou River Lodge! And, once more, everything is just as fantastic as before. We were welcomed as 'old friends' this time, just over twelve months since our last visit. The accommodation and hospitality is First Class and we still think that Sue'sbreakfasts are to die for. Sue is ever there to sort out any problems and give advice, book restaurants and arrange viewing of the final games of the Six Nations Rugby on TV for a desperate husband! And all with a Big Smile. Many thanks again, Sue, and hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at Sue's beautiful B&B for the last night of our Honeymoon. The rooms are decorated so beautifully and we loved the small flowers on the towels, homemade biscuits and the most delicious pancakes for breakfast I've ever eaten. Sue's warmth and personality is wonderful and wished we could stay longer. For those that visit will completely fall in love with Zinzi

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emms030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This place is fabulous if you like peace, nature and animals. Simple rooms next to a lovely small river with free use of a canoe for each room. The friendly alsation dog waited in the garden outside our room each morning to follow us down to the river. Our fault because we befriended him. The early morning sights and sounds on the river are magical. Very abundant birdlife, jumping fish and the occasional mammal ( we heard otters at night but did not see them). Breakfasts are superb and imaginative with lots of little extra homemade delicasies. The lovely owners cannot do too much to help without being in the slightest obtrusive. Plettenberg Bay is probably about a 5/6 km drive away but it is a great place. There is a very good restaurant about 3 km from the lodge but we enjoyed using the provided barbecue ( braie) by the riverside as darkness fell. The SA red wine went down very well here without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

A little late to write this review since we had visited South Africa for the FIFA in July. This place is a beautiful gem, charming and cozy, a slice of paradise, nature at its very best... Sue provided such attention to detail that we grieved to leave...Zinzi, the pet dog, fancied our family and stuck by us loyally throughout our short stay. We must return to Bitou some day since this is probably one of our best experiences in all our travels. I really can't say enough about Bitou River Lodge...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saloniduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We were travelling with our 22 year old daughter who invited us for a family vacation at a destination of her choice. (She has been on the road since October, 2009). Given that leeway, advance notice of itinerary, and wanting to splurge a bit on her behalf, I researched many places that would fit our mutual needs. Bitou River Lodge (which incidentally is attempting to change its profile to Plettenburg Bay Inn, but having no success on Trip Advisor and elsewhere) was what I thought "would do" for us, money wise and comfort wise.

Well, they went way beyond "would do" for us. First off, Sue was helpful in suggesting a second, separate room for our daughter, at a good discount rather than all being in the same room with a sleep sofa. That offer encouraged us to make Plett Bay our third night and our focus for the area. We couldn't have been more pleased than to put our collective selves in one place, in separate rooms, in order to explore the area.

Starting each day with a wonderful breakfast was really a treat. Now, indeed, I have read numerous breakfast reviews from other TA peeps, and many of you often focus on the variety of available choices. We are not that picky, however I believe any of you would be most certainly impressed with the efforts of Sue. She apparently cooks eggs to order every morning (!), had many fresh baked items (delictable and take them on your hike for refuelling if that is your agenda) and then switched up all the other want to haves: fruit, yogurt, breads, cereals, meats, etc.

To the lodging itself: We absolutely would not have wanted to be anywhere else. Comfortable enough for five stars (but there were thousands of stars in the clear sky over the river) and just right for us. You are on a farm, just a touch removed from Plett Bay itself, so probably one would need a vehicle for getting there. Our beds and linens were top notch. Rooms have refridgerators, tubs and showers. We were there during a drought so I didn't take advantage of the tub (and we shut down the shower to lather up) but it was seductively surrounded with candles. Open patios overlook the river. There is wireless in the main guest area, many books in the library, etc. which is open until one wants because Sue is accomodating that way.

Fun extras: dogs greeting you with tennis balls for tossing to them. Kayaks for going on to the river. (We did this but one can't go very far either direction due to growth, but finding birds is very nice) Chocolates on the pillow for turn down (ok, not special but I didn't expect it here when I booked), homemade lemonade for purchase in the fridge (a bit too expensive for us but I'm VERY particular about my lemonade since I also make my own), wine is available (we brought our own from Stellenbosch so didn't sample) and fresh water every day.

Sue was great in recommending restaurants and made a point in getting us a reservation at some place nearby, on a hill, that was totally slammed and you food peeps will know what it is. We were happy there, but also content at regular joints down in Plett that she suggested. A dinner scene wasn't our cool factor because we were busy out hiking 4-6 hours a day and exhausted early. But we loved the fact that Sue made the effort to get us to (Emily Moon's?) and felt back in the in crowd and fun, which who would have known was up in the hills over Plett?
Yes, we would return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ej54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

In short there are places that one day you will return - this is one. Sue & Co. were special hosts who deserve to reap rewards for their hospitality. Muffins to die for!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDavRDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

What a fantastic location, accommodation and hospitality.... and the BEST breakfasts ever! Plettenburg Bay is one of the main towns situated on the Garden Route and is a very busy little place. Bitou River Lodge is only ten minutes' drive situated on the Bitou river banks in seclusion, peace and quiet. Paradise! Sue, our hostess, was hospitality personified - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was big and beautiful, with an enormous king size bed, and so tasteful in both architecture and furnishings. To come "home" from the hurly-burly of the coast to the solitude and natural environment of the Lodge was wonderful. To wake to the birdsong (and even spot the elusive Knysna Loerie!) was refreshing and then to sample Sue's wonderful breakfasts with homemade breads and muffins, etc. was Paradise. We are fortunate to live in South Africa for part of the year so.... WE WILL BE BACK! Thanks Sue.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provencal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing