We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bitou River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$256
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$280
US$273
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$355
US$339
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$611
US$597
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
211
21
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
21
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird lifesue's breakfastswater liliesb bsue paulbanana muffinssmall riverbird watcherspeaceful locationthe perfect hostlocal wildlifewelcomed us warmlygarden routecomfortable roomsa real pleasureattention to detailrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

In a beautiful location with the river running peacefully at the bottom of the garden, and canoes to borrow. A tranquil setting, beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms and a generous and delicious breakfast. Very good birdwatching as well.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river and have their own little verandah.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dressmakerdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, greatly appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our stay was incredible. Lovely food, the rooms were amazingly beautiful, clean, and hospitable. The breakfast was five stars, the setting of the rooms on the river is exquisite. The rustic setting included canoes. Our room was cozy and mostly decorated in white. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope we'll see you here again.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Room lovely, service excellent. Food fantastic. Bathroom needs modernising to justify star rating. Pool average - needs modernising. However, on balance we had a very lovely time and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank faye_lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks for your review, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We chose to be a little out of town knowing Plett itself was likely to be so busy over Christmas / New Year. So we were very pleased with our choice of the Bitou River Lodge which turned out to be everything we hoped for and more.
A wonderful place to stay - as confirmed many times by the other reviews.. Located in the most beautiful area and designed with thought and quality. Sue is a wonderful host who strikes the perfect balance of helpfulness and privacy, with a quality service and breakfasts to match.
We will not hesitate to go back to on our return to South Africa.
Thank you Sue. It was a real pleasure.
Amanda & James Leonard

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thanks, Amanda & James, so appreciate the review ... we loved having you to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was my 1st experience with a B & B.
Last year I stayed at the Beacon Island Hotel for 2 weeks & far preferred the B & B experience.
I just cannot say enough good things about the Bitou River Lodge.
I stayed with my 2 daughters from Canada & definitely plan to return with my partner..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JERRY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you! Hope we'll see you again before too long!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews