We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice & quiet B&B”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Very nice & quiet B&B”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful location in Plettenberg bay. the view is just great, Bitou River and nothing else. Very nice places to go out for dinner. An absolutley must is to have a car! Will most likely stay again in Bitou River lodge on my next trip to Plett. -Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Indergand_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We think this place is awesome and a great spot to explore the Garden Route from. Sue was keen to look after us from the time we arrived - and provided particularly fantastic breakfasts - and the location is sensational. We were able to have some lovely barbecues and were disappointed not to have a had time to canoe down the Bitou. There's lots of beautiful wildlife to enjoy and the cat and dogs make the place feel very homely. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and are really cosy. There is no AC but it wasn't too hot to sleep even though the day we arrived was scorching. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
A big thank you for the awesome review! Next time the canoeing ....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were so lucky to find this lovely Guest House. We arrived when it was very hot and to just relax on the verandah outside our room overlooking the river with all the trees was beautiful and peaceful. Sue was so helpful with advice - where to go for dinner; reservations for us; information about polo being played while we were in the area.

It was our 50th wedding anniversary the day we were at Bitou River Lodge, and the cherry on top was receiving a specially wrapped bottle of homemade lemon juice and a card to end off an excellent breakfast with muffins. Thank you so much Sue for your thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - hope we'll see you again soon!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

From the start, it was a pleasure to communicate with Sue. Highly-organised and professional with emails including sending us advance booking information for Christmas lunch, on the local restaurants, and on arrival taking the time to produce a sheet of Christmas Church services, so we could plan where to go.

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful architect-designed, well-planned property, with two adjacent rooms. Each has a front stable-door, and a back door, allowing a lovely breeze to flow through. There has been great attention to detail in the planning, including a personal "kitchen space" in the entrance area, complete with well-stocked fridge, kettle, sink, and various other thoughtful items including mozzie spray, matches and BBQ tools. The decor is very soft on the eye, and enabled us to really unwind.

Much has been written about Sue's excellent hospitality, menus, delicious breakfasts, and surprises. I can only echo the sentiments! We had a truly amazing Christmas breakfast, and were treated to the guest lounge which we were able to use exclusively, to unwrap our pressies, which enabled us to feel very much at home!

The location was absolutely perfect for us as well, and takes only a matter of minutes to get back onto the N2.

Don't hesitate. Book!

Room Tip: All rooms face the River - Sue would book them first come first served anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Big thank you for the wonderful, detailed review! Great punchline!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A peaceful , picture perfect place , canoeing through hundreds of waterlilies with rare bird sitings and sundowners with frog choirs , all gets repeated after the perfect hostess serves you a designer farm breakfast with a special surprise each morning . Soul food !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Love the 'frog choirs" ! Huge thanks for the review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The setting, on the bank of the small Bitou River (think water lillies and moorhens), is magical.The friendly service from Sue, and the delicious breakfast make this a must for the area.Peaceful, yet only a five minute drive to the beaches and buzz of Plettenberg Bay. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Big thank you for the wonderful review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just returned from wonderful two night stay at the Bitou River Lodge. I am in my forties and was traveling with my 25 yr old stepson. We both truly enjoyed our stay at the Bitou River Lodge, and are in full agreement that the breakfasts at the Bitou were the clear winner across our entire 16 day vacation (which included a stay in a 5-star luxury game lodge). Yes, the breakfasts were that good. Sue also provided excellent information about the area and gave us great ideas for what to do while we were there. She suggested an afternoon hike along the Robberg Peninsula, which was fantastic and the perfect activity for us. We also went horseback riding at Hog Hollow Horse Trails, which was awesome (we did a ride through the forest). One should note that this property is slightly outside of town, so one needs to drive to town for dinners, etc. Overall, staying here felt a lot like staying at a friend's house.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you so much for the awesome review! The breakfast comments made my day .... :-)
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provencal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing