We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast lodge”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here about 10 years ago and had a wonderful time. It hasn't changed. Of all the places we stayed in South Africa - this was the most friendly and Sue is the most perfect host. The situation beside the Bituo river is perfect and there are canoas are availed to use

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! I hope we'll see you here again!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful location in Plettenberg bay. the view is just great, Bitou River and nothing else. Very nice places to go out for dinner. An absolutley must is to have a car! Will most likely stay again in Bitou River lodge on my next trip to Plett. -Peter

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Indergand_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We think this place is awesome and a great spot to explore the Garden Route from. Sue was keen to look after us from the time we arrived - and provided particularly fantastic breakfasts - and the location is sensational. We were able to have some lovely barbecues and were disappointed not to have a had time to canoe down the Bitou. There's lots of beautiful wildlife to enjoy and the cat and dogs make the place feel very homely. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and are really cosy. There is no AC but it wasn't too hot to sleep even though the day we arrived was scorching. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

A big thank you for the awesome review! Next time the canoeing ....
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were so lucky to find this lovely Guest House. We arrived when it was very hot and to just relax on the verandah outside our room overlooking the river with all the trees was beautiful and peaceful. Sue was so helpful with advice - where to go for dinner; reservations for us; information about polo being played while we were in the area.

It was our 50th wedding anniversary the day we were at Bitou River Lodge, and the cherry on top was receiving a specially wrapped bottle of homemade lemon juice and a card to end off an excellent breakfast with muffins. Thank you so much Sue for your thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - hope we'll see you again soon!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

From the start, it was a pleasure to communicate with Sue. Highly-organised and professional with emails including sending us advance booking information for Christmas lunch, on the local restaurants, and on arrival taking the time to produce a sheet of Christmas Church services, so we could plan where to go.

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful architect-designed, well-planned property, with two adjacent rooms. Each has a front stable-door, and a back door, allowing a lovely breeze to flow through. There has been great attention to detail in the planning, including a personal "kitchen space" in the entrance area, complete with well-stocked fridge, kettle, sink, and various other thoughtful items including mozzie spray, matches and BBQ tools. The decor is very soft on the eye, and enabled us to really unwind.

Much has been written about Sue's excellent hospitality, menus, delicious breakfasts, and surprises. I can only echo the sentiments! We had a truly amazing Christmas breakfast, and were treated to the guest lounge which we were able to use exclusively, to unwrap our pressies, which enabled us to feel very much at home!

The location was absolutely perfect for us as well, and takes only a matter of minutes to get back onto the N2.

Don't hesitate. Book!

Room Tip: All rooms face the River - Sue would book them first come first served anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Big thank you for the wonderful, detailed review! Great punchline!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A peaceful , picture perfect place , canoeing through hundreds of waterlilies with rare bird sitings and sundowners with frog choirs , all gets repeated after the perfect hostess serves you a designer farm breakfast with a special surprise each morning . Soul food !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Love the 'frog choirs" ! Huge thanks for the review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The setting, on the bank of the small Bitou River (think water lillies and moorhens), is magical.The friendly service from Sue, and the delicious breakfast make this a must for the area.Peaceful, yet only a five minute drive to the beaches and buzz of Plettenberg Bay. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Big thank you for the wonderful review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
292 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
815 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
140 reviews
4.7 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing