We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend highly enough”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #11 of 81 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Bitou twice over the last few years, and we really can't recommend it highly enough. We've just returned from a 5 night stay over Easter with other members of our family who have all been converted to its brilliance!

The Lodge is just FANTASTIC, it's nestled next to the Bitou River with all the rooms looking out directly out onto the river. It means you can happily spend a relaxing day in the grounds of the Lodge reading a book, swimming by the pool or taking a canoe down the river.

Sue is a wonderful host, always happy to answer your questions, make recommendations or organise restaurant bookings for you as well as going the extra mile to make sure you have a comfortable stay.

Rooms are well appointed, with really comfortable beds and a separate lounge area. They also have a small kitchen with a fridge, sink and crockery, it means that you have the option of using the Braai for an evening meal rather than heading to one of the many restaurants in Plett. Breakfast is a feast with fresh fruit, homemade muffins and a cooked breakfast available daily. Perfect for fuelling you for a busy day out and about.

Really can't recommend Bitou River Lodge highly enough. The prices are very good and do look to see if your schedule allows you to take advantage of some of the 3:4:2 or 7:4:4 offers on rooms. I suspect we'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks so much for the awesome review! Much appreciated! I'm impressed by your TripAdvisor status....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautiful location outside Plett, well-tended lawns, inviting river and very friendly hostess and dogs. The whole breakfast was delicious and varied, and we slept deeply - although we would recommend sleeping masks, or getting up early. Bit of a trek to the nearest restaurant, but Enrico's is worth the journey. Thanks Sue (and Zindzi!), we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hamoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Next time we'll send you to Emily's for dinner - much closer....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here about 10 years ago and had a wonderful time. It hasn't changed. Of all the places we stayed in South Africa - this was the most friendly and Sue is the most perfect host. The situation beside the Bituo river is perfect and there are canoas are availed to use

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I hope we'll see you here again!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful location in Plettenberg bay. the view is just great, Bitou River and nothing else. Very nice places to go out for dinner. An absolutley must is to have a car! Will most likely stay again in Bitou River lodge on my next trip to Plett. -Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Indergand_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We think this place is awesome and a great spot to explore the Garden Route from. Sue was keen to look after us from the time we arrived - and provided particularly fantastic breakfasts - and the location is sensational. We were able to have some lovely barbecues and were disappointed not to have a had time to canoe down the Bitou. There's lots of beautiful wildlife to enjoy and the cat and dogs make the place feel very homely. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and are really cosy. There is no AC but it wasn't too hot to sleep even though the day we arrived was scorching. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
A big thank you for the awesome review! Next time the canoeing ....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were so lucky to find this lovely Guest House. We arrived when it was very hot and to just relax on the verandah outside our room overlooking the river with all the trees was beautiful and peaceful. Sue was so helpful with advice - where to go for dinner; reservations for us; information about polo being played while we were in the area.

It was our 50th wedding anniversary the day we were at Bitou River Lodge, and the cherry on top was receiving a specially wrapped bottle of homemade lemon juice and a card to end off an excellent breakfast with muffins. Thank you so much Sue for your thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - hope we'll see you again soon!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

From the start, it was a pleasure to communicate with Sue. Highly-organised and professional with emails including sending us advance booking information for Christmas lunch, on the local restaurants, and on arrival taking the time to produce a sheet of Christmas Church services, so we could plan where to go.

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful architect-designed, well-planned property, with two adjacent rooms. Each has a front stable-door, and a back door, allowing a lovely breeze to flow through. There has been great attention to detail in the planning, including a personal "kitchen space" in the entrance area, complete with well-stocked fridge, kettle, sink, and various other thoughtful items including mozzie spray, matches and BBQ tools. The decor is very soft on the eye, and enabled us to really unwind.

Much has been written about Sue's excellent hospitality, menus, delicious breakfasts, and surprises. I can only echo the sentiments! We had a truly amazing Christmas breakfast, and were treated to the guest lounge which we were able to use exclusively, to unwrap our pressies, which enabled us to feel very much at home!

The location was absolutely perfect for us as well, and takes only a matter of minutes to get back onto the N2.

Don't hesitate. Book!

Room Tip: All rooms face the River - Sue would book them first come first served anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Big thank you for the wonderful, detailed review! Great punchline!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Property: Bitou River Lodge
Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing