We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Bitou River Lodge is a superb guest house. The rooms are well appointed with lovely views acoss the garden to the river with its water lillies and reeds in which are many birds; a truly tranquil scene. Sue was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we ate far too well. I wish we could have spent more time in this beautiful, peaceful environment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013
Google Translation

Vielen dank für die wunderbare Rezension!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Bitou River Lodge and it was perfect. Very clean accommodation with everything you need. The bed was very comfortable the best one out of all of our guest houses.
Zinzi the dog is very friendly, and very well trained not to enter the guests rooms. The garden down to the river is beautiful, with lots of various birds to sit and watch.
Sue is an excellent host recommending places to eat your evening meal and booking a table for you. The breakfasts are out of this world, and Sue is the best cook ever, Banana & chocolate chip muffins & Scones, as well as a fantastic cooked breakfast, it is all so perfect.

Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay and for looking after us so well. Kim & Ian.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

What a wonderful review! Thanks, Kim & Ian, hope we'll see you again before too long! Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

On our road trip around the Western Cape one of the best places we found to stay was the Bitou River Lodge. The guesthouse setting, by the side of the river filled with a tangle of colourful waterlilies, is very picturesque and tranquil, and the available canoes looked inviting. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortably and tastefully furnished. Our hostess, Sue, was very gracious, helpful and keen to see all our needs were met. Tea and cakes on our veranda made our welcome complete. We only stayed one night but would like, at some time in the future to return to this quiet, peaceful haven.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

I hope you will return! Huge thank you for such a lovely review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Bitou twice over the last few years, and we really can't recommend it highly enough. We've just returned from a 5 night stay over Easter with other members of our family who have all been converted to its brilliance!

The Lodge is just FANTASTIC, it's nestled next to the Bitou River with all the rooms looking out directly out onto the river. It means you can happily spend a relaxing day in the grounds of the Lodge reading a book, swimming by the pool or taking a canoe down the river.

Sue is a wonderful host, always happy to answer your questions, make recommendations or organise restaurant bookings for you as well as going the extra mile to make sure you have a comfortable stay.

Rooms are well appointed, with really comfortable beds and a separate lounge area. They also have a small kitchen with a fridge, sink and crockery, it means that you have the option of using the Braai for an evening meal rather than heading to one of the many restaurants in Plett. Breakfast is a feast with fresh fruit, homemade muffins and a cooked breakfast available daily. Perfect for fuelling you for a busy day out and about.

Really can't recommend Bitou River Lodge highly enough. The prices are very good and do look to see if your schedule allows you to take advantage of some of the 3:4:2 or 7:4:4 offers on rooms. I suspect we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks so much for the awesome review! Much appreciated! I'm impressed by your TripAdvisor status....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Beautiful location outside Plett, well-tended lawns, inviting river and very friendly hostess and dogs. The whole breakfast was delicious and varied, and we slept deeply - although we would recommend sleeping masks, or getting up early. Bit of a trek to the nearest restaurant, but Enrico's is worth the journey. Thanks Sue (and Zindzi!), we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hamoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Next time we'll send you to Emily's for dinner - much closer....
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here about 10 years ago and had a wonderful time. It hasn't changed. Of all the places we stayed in South Africa - this was the most friendly and Sue is the most perfect host. The situation beside the Bituo river is perfect and there are canoas are availed to use

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! I hope we'll see you here again!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful location in Plettenberg bay. the view is just great, Bitou River and nothing else. Very nice places to go out for dinner. An absolutley must is to have a car! Will most likely stay again in Bitou River lodge on my next trip to Plett. -Peter

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Indergand_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
582 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
126 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing