We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bitou River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Island Resort(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
211
21
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
21
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird lifesue's breakfastswater liliesb bsue paulbanana muffinssmall riverbird watcherspeaceful locationthe perfect hostlocal wildlifewelcomed us warmlygarden routecomfortable roomsa real pleasureattention to detailrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

fantastic, amazing setting and amazing rooms..

stayed with my dad while he was over from the uk and he is still talking about it!

a must stop if you are around plettenberg - highly recommended place..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! Say hi to your dad!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We are really glad that we chose to stay at Bitou River Lodge, as it turned out to be an idyllic spot in a tranquil riverside setting, yet within a few minutes drive of Plett, where there are many restaurants, shops, beaches etc.
Sue and Paul were warm and welcoming, and very happy to give advice on the local area. There was a large and very enjoyable breakfast buffet, more than enough to keep us going all day! Our room was bright, cheerful and comfortable, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0tmade0fm0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for the awesome review - hope you will be able to stay longer next time!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst travelling along the Garden Route. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfasts were first class, we were offered a variety of fresh, local foods. Sue is a great host and the location is fantastic with views over the river and surrounding countryside. the lodge is only 10 minutes drive from Plettenberg where you can find lots of restaurants & cafes. We visited Storms River Mouth, Natures Valley & Buffalo Bay. Highly recommend staying at Bitou River Lodge.
John&Sue

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1johnandsue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review - much appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our family (one 8-year old child) stayed at Bitou River Lodge in late September 2013 during our visit to Plettenberg Bay and the Garden Route. We had originally booked for 3 nights but after spending two nights there we decided to add a fourth night so that we could continue to enjoy the comforts of the lodge and the beautiful area. A few highlights to show what a terrific hotel this is:
- Sue, the proprietor, is a terrific cook and serves a full breakfast each morning, punctuated by outstanding baked goods (scones the first day were tremendous).
- On our second morning we had booked a whale watch, but our car wouldn't start. It was too late to get a taxi, so Sue offered without our asking to give us a ride to the harbor. So kind! We made it.
- The lodge is within 10 minutes drive of the main Plett beachfront area, about 8 kilometres. It is easy to park there and then spend the day enjoying various activities, including whale watching, great beachfront eating, and swimming in the water.
- The lodge is about an hour's drive from Tsitsikamma National Park and assorted activities there, and about 45 minutes from Storm's River, which is beautiful.
- The floor is heated in the lodge and the beds and sheets were comfortable. The back wall opens up onto a pleasant sloped grassy lawn that goes down to the slow-moving river. One can take out canoes if so inclined, which we did and enjoyed.
All in all a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Big thank you for the detailed review - it's wonderful! Come again....!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Thanks so much to Sue who welcomed us with a hot cup of tea and biscuits! We really enjoyed staying at Bitou River Lodge..it is so tranquil and the service is excellent. What I also enjoyed is that it is not pretentious - we felt as if it is our home and we loved the farm setting. Even though you are close to Plettenberg Bay, the place feels remote and peaceful. It was nice for us to have a little lounge and veranda as part of each bedroom to do a little work. The price suited us very well too. Highly recommended! We'll be back : )

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ernitavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your awesome review - hope you really will be back!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews